"Know Your Opportunity"

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.

Here I am sitting in planned parenthood and I hear my name called Monisha Lloyd….Monisha Lloyd. I get up & follow the nurse  to my room. She begins to tell me my test came back “Positive”. I’m sixteen; however, I’ll be turning seventeen in six weeks so it can’t be that bad….RIGHT!?!?! I leave the building heading back to school QUICKLY so I will not miss my english class. The entire bus ride I LITERALLY saw MY LIFE GOOONE in my head. I walk back into the doors of my high school and I IMMEDIATELY see my current BFF/High School sweetheart. I walk up to him and hand him a paper that WILL change the REST of OUR lives. I tear up as I began to think about my ENTIRE basketball career GOONE…MY FUTURE GONE!!! I’m sixteen and pregnant. He stands there “STIFF” and I continue to class. Six months and two weeks later hiding my BABY BUMP was DIFFICULT. After playing in the championship game at PG community college(6 1/2 months Pregnant) I felt the need to confess to my parents that in less than three months I will be a mother. Here I am going into my last year of high school eight months pregnant. I felt so down on myself and I felt defeated. Psalms 25:4-7 “Show me your ways, O LORD, teach me your paths; guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long. Remember, O LORD, your great mercy and love. Remember not the sins of my youth and my rebellious ways; according to your love remember me, for you are good, O LORD. ”

You see I was VERY familiar with God and I knew enough to KNOW that God WILL show me His way WHEN I AM CONNECTED and I NEED NOT feel defeated. I began working when my son was three weeks old(I STILL had my stitches in) I was determined to graduate; however, my son needed to be financially taken care of. I would work evening and continue my education during the day. My life was SOOO hard in MY EYES. John 16:33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” I graduated ON TIME and my life TRULY BEGAN!!! Being ME at that time was THE WORST…However, God had ALREADY promised ME that He would NEVER LEAVE me NOR FORSAKE me!!! & I ALWAYS believed that. You see thru my struggles God ALREADY KNEW my FUTURE/PAST/ & PRESENT. God was just WAITING on ME to get in line with HIS WILL so He could SHOW ME. After, seven years of doing MY LIFE MY WAY I FINALLY saw the big picture. I TRULY…I SAID TRULY needed to FOLLOW Christ with ALL MY HEART in order for the life HE PROMISED me to come to LIGHT in this DARK world.

My sons father and I were APART(7 yrs) living TOTALLY different lives(of course he was VERY present in our sons life) and The minute I gave my life to Christ and SURRENDERED ALL, He reunited us and we got married. We CHOSE to live our lives pleasing God and God ALONE. Philippians 3:7 “but whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ. You see I gave up living IN THE WORLD and LOOK what God DID!!! YES…GOD and GOD ALONE DID IT!!!

Today, I ENCOURAGE you to LOOK at the bigger picture. Though life may seem tough/IMPOSSIBLE RIGHT NOW…THRU Christ and Christ ALONE YOU can/WILL overcome. KNOW YOUR OPPORTUNITY thru your trials….Don’t think your life is over because it didn’t go YOUR WAY the way YOU PLANNED it. Matthew 7:7 “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. Don’t LET the door close on you while your DWELLING on your SORROW!!! NOOO…GET UP & KNOW YOUR OPPORTUNITY!!

Seek Christ I GUARANTEE you WILL NOT regret it. Today I look back on my life and reminisce on how I was sad/ANGRY with myself, I was disappointed with MYSELF BUT GOD ALREADY knew” THAT WAS MY OPPORTUNITY” and that TODAY I would THRU CHRIST in a BOLD & FAB way share what I THOUGHT was THE END…THRU CHRIST was the BEGINNING of a GREAT JOURNEY FILLED with JOY, PEACE, & MOST IMPORTANT ETERNITY with Christ. In God’s presence is fullness of joy; At His right hand are pleasures forever. Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. And He said, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.” The LORD is near to all who call upon Him, To all who call upon Him in truth. Today, get in your WORD so YOU can KNOW YOUR OPPORTUNITY when it ARRIVES because IT WILL  in Jesus Name.

Monisha S. Carter

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Fridays with Monisha. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to "Know Your Opportunity"

  1. HANK LLOYD says:

    I remember these times in your life, but God said he would take you threw trials and tribulations in life, he has been very good to you and your family, you must remember that God will never leave you nor forsake you, he is a God of mercy, if you confess your sins he will forgive you. LOVE DAD

  2. MARQUITA JOYCE-GRANT says:

    Ooooohhh how I can relate to this story so well….I remember thinking all the same thoughts….especially feeling like another statistic of which was always important for me not to be…but I knew I had to change and get for real about my walk with Christ..cause I knew that me raising another human wasn’t anything I could afford to mess up or do over……ONCE I REPENTED AND STAYED CELIBATE FOR 3 YEARS I LEARNED JUST HOW MUCH GOD HAD NEVER FORSAKEN ME AND EVEN TIGHTER THAN THAT HE HAD TAKEN ALL MY PAST SINS AND TURNEDTHEM AROUND FOR HIS GLORY… HAIL TO THE KING!…….KEEP SPREADING YOUR TESTIMONIES AND FULFILLING GODS PURPOSE FOR U.

  3. Derrica White says:

    Very proud of you cousin. I know your struggle personally and saw that transition that GOD has made in your life. Love You

  4. Jaimie Miller says:

    HEY BEAUTIFUL LADY! YOU HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A PRETTY GIRL BUT YOU ARE A BEAUTIFUL LADY INSIDE AN OUT NOW! I ALSO REMEMBER THOSE DAYS AS YOU KNOW I HAD MINE TOO. WELL I AM ALSO THERE FINALLY GIVING UP ON MY OWN WAY AN PATH WITH MY CONTROLING SELF. SO I SOON WILL BE ON THE SAME PATH IF NOT ALREADY. SO THANKS I LOOK FORWARD TO YOUR READING EVERY WEEK!!

  5. Mom Dukes says:

    I’ll never forget that Sunday in church… I was praying for those the Holy Spirit would touch that morning to surrender their all to Christ. Someone tapped my shoulder from behind and pointed to the front. Up there, was my 12 year old daughter, professing Christ as her Savior and Lord. I knew immediately she would have trials because of her choice, and I began an 18 year prayer vigil for my baby girl. Today, she is serving the Lord BOLDLY, with all her heart and soul, in spite of her restless journey. God is faithful; He rescues those who humbly confess their sins…. Press on, sweetie…. Love you…

  6. Kenya Edwards says:

    Hey lady… I definitely can relate to the struggle of your story b/c for so many years and up to recently I tried to live my life “MY WAY” and it was the wrong way… that is not what God had planned for me. Now that I’m patient and see things according to what God has planned for my life. Now I’m starting to see many doors opening for me and I see things a lot clearer. Prayer is powerful…Love You

  7. HANK LLOYD says:

    God has his Angels all around my daughter, she has been threw some rough times in her life, but threw it all she has been able to keep her eye on the prize, to reach the gates of heaven you must stay the course, God see’s all and he will have his way in the say of your life. I am so proud of my daughter she is the Love of my life, I live for my children, and it is my job to keep them running in the right direction, and that is toward God’s kingdom.

  8. boldandfab says:

    Thank you all for ALLOWING God to use me as an OPPORTUNITY to share with you. Thanks for ALL the CONTINUOUS SUPPORT it means SOOO MUCH & b/c it’s FAMILY it TOUCHES me HEAVY!!! May God continue to use The Bold & Fab to minister in EVERYWAY He wants…..

    S. Carter

Leave a Reply

