Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired

As I prepare myself for the new school year set to blast off in 3 weeks, I can’t help but become overwhelmed with what I KNOW to expect for this year. Long days, late nights, 120 bright-eyed, bushy-tailed children, 50 different attitudes from faculty and staff, stacks of ungraded papers thrown all over my kitchen table, senseless meetings about meetings, angry parents, demanding bosses, and lonely weekends, hiding in my shell until the next week.


Just a Little Stressed

I mean, don’t get me wrong, I would be lying if I didn’t say that I am super excited to see what God has in store for a new season, however the one thing I don’t ever think I will get used to is the feeling of being D R A I N E D ..physically, mentally, and emotionally.

Let’s play a game…

If the statement applies to you, simply say to yourself “That’s Me!”

*I am often giving of my time to others.

*I am the one others call on for help.

*I am lacking REST.

*I often feel exhausted, going to bed AND waking up.

*I often feel rushed.

If you can identify with any one of the aforementioned statements, then this Word may be for you.

Today I became angry at the world, feeling like I was being taken advantage of because once again someone needed ME to do something for THEM.

A feeling of resentment rose up in me, after rushing to get to one meeting, then to another, and then off to another..when suddenly I realized, I did not benefit from any of the meetings I was engaged in today. So why did I go? Well, because I made a commitment, a promise, to people that I would be there for them, and yet I was pissed off about not having a free Saturday. It wasn’t until writing this that I was able to re-evaluate my mind and have a long talk with God about my over-committed lifestyle. It is here that God told me…

“Whatever you do, work at it with all of your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men.”
Colossians 3:23
When He told me this, I argued (I mean literally argued.lol) with God, asking Him why must I do everything for others, when people don’t do anything for me? His reply was simple,
“I DO EVERYTHING FOR YOU.”
He also added that I shall “be steadfast, immovable, always excelling in the work of the Lord, because you know that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.”
1 Corinthians 15:58
This was great until my meditating was interrupted by a student who needed something from me, and my little sister who also, once again needed ME.  :::Shaking.MY.Head:::
I guess I am still maturing in my walk and will eventually become comfortable with being a servant. Until then, I am comforted in knowing that when I begin feeling “stressed out, uptight, overworked, and riled up” MY FATHER is there to replenish what’s been poured out, and provide for me everything HUMANS cannot.
At least with this, I am sure when He brings me home and hugs me tightly He will DEFINITELY say “Well Done, my good and faithful servant” (Matthew 25: 14-30)
Others may buckle under the pressures of WORK here on Earth, and fall into the selfish ways of I I I, “But as for you, be strong and do not give up, for your work will be rewarded.”
2 Chronicles 15:7
Be Blessed,
_April Christina_
About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired

  1. iNDIGO says:

    WOWZA sis!!! You wrote this in a way that made me feel like I was in your shoes for a moment. Tired just reading, but rejoicing in the same token! God is using you in a mighty way and He will never give you more than you can bear!! GREAT scripture references too. Here’s another good one that relates: GALATIANS 6:9. Bold&Fab4Life!!!

  2. Tristan Lewis says:

    Blessed by this. Feeling similar lately. Thanks for this. Helped someone today.

  3. Lissa O says:

    THATS ME!!! Thank you 🙂

  4. Mom Dukes says:

    WOW.. checked into Pity City just last night, while finishing a project I agreed to do. In the middle of my “partying” the Lord spoke to me ever so clearly… do EVERYTHING without complaining and grumbling…to the Glory of God… Man, I DID NOT want to hear that.. but God’s word is TRUTH.. and I immediately set out to not only finish the project but put God’s stamp of approval all over it… TO GOD BE THE GLORY AND HONOR…FOREVER AND EVER….

Leave a Reply

