The Proverbs 31 Woman

Throughout this whole week, in the back of my mind, Proverbs 31 kept running through my mind. I kept hearing what King Lemuel‘s mother taught him, “A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies.” (Proverbs 31:10) [Makes you think: I want to be worth far more than rubies.] And again and again would I hear, “Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value.” (Proverbs 31:11) So who was the Proverbs 31 woman? Why did she make it into the Bible, holding her own chapter even. Now keep in mind that even though I am not of marrying age (according to my own mind & that of my father’s) I find the Proverbs 31 wife to be an excellent role model not only for wives, but even to young teen girls today!

So I thought about her. Could she be an example of how to be a friend? Could I follow in her footsteps? See, because what we might fail to remember is… the Proverbs 31 wife wasn’t always married. She wasn’t always of marrying age. She wasn’t always in a one-on-one relationship with a man. At one point in time, the Proverbs 31 woman was a teenage girl just like me. I know she did not become this DAZZLING woman overnight. So then I begin to wonder: this must mean that she began developing these characteristics before she was courted! This is something I can do now! At some point in her life, she came into contact with men her age. How did she treat them? Who did she look up to? Who taught her how to be this perfect friend that she was, who then ended up becoming this prime example of a “good” wife?

This great lady can teach me a lot about how to treat other guys. She was trustworthy. “Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value.” -Proverbs 31:11. She was a hard worker, or she didn’t mind working. Rather, work was something she wanted to do as it says in verse 13: New Oxford Translation says: “She seeks wool and flax, and works with WILLING hands.” NIV says: “She selects wool and flax and works with EAGER hands”! This woman was a thinker. Verses 14 through 16 say that she planned ahead in order to provide for her household. Verse 17 shows me that the Proverbs 31 lady got her head into the task ahead. “She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks.” I can learn to be sensitive towards my friends as she was towards the poor. “She opens her hand to the poor, and reaches out her hands to the needy.”(Proverbs 31:20) I saw that she was confident and independent in verse 25: “She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.“ I can learn to be wise through my speech as she was in verse 26: “She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue.”

The closing verses of this chapter seem to be some of the most dynamic and riveting verses I have ever learned. Proverbs 31:29 says, “MANY women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.” How is it that so many can do excellently, and not be praised so highly as the Proverbs 31 wife? What makes her so different? The answer is found in the following verse (vs. 30) “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD (YAHWEH) is to be praised.” What makes this young lady so dynamic was her reverence and obedience to the Lord. She kept Him first in all her ways. It wasn’t about how much she gave to the poor, how much she planned ahead to prepare for her household, how much she respected her husband, how much she loved her children, or how well she cared for even the servants in her house. It was her fear of the Lord. Even verse 31 states that only her works would get her public praises. “Give her the reward she has earned, and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.” I find that significant. Her works bring her praise at the city gate, but her fear of the Lord brings her praise. Period. I may not be married, but can’t I start living like the woman God would have me to be for someone NOW? Why should I wait ‘til the day of to start? That is like waiting ‘til the day of the exam to study the manual. I am certain that the Proverbs 31 woman was more than just an example for married woman. She is a very good role model for young adult ladies as well. What if I learned from her example how to treat my friends? What if I applied her character traits to my personality? In reading about the Proverbs 31 woman, I find that I am presented with TWO role models here. One is the woman. Then I see that in Proverbs 31, my own mother is clearly depicted!

One thing I remember most from this passage in Scripture, fear of the Lord makes a woman dynamical. It transforms her into a powerful force that everyone around can see. The fear of the LORD (Yahweh). What King Lemuel’s mother taught him, what I learned from my mother, and what I can learn from the Proverbs 31 woman are all tools that I will use to continue to grow into the BOLD & FABULOUS woman that God has planned for me to be.

TO THE KING!!

-Claire

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Mondays with Claire and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Proverbs 31 Woman

  1. Derrica White says:

    Awww. I am so proud of you Clara. This was a beautiful message for all to see. We all can learn something from this. Thank You

  2. Tristan Lewis says:

    Amen. I am slowly becoming this woman and am praising the lord for it every step of the way.

  3. D. Kelly says:

    Claire,
    Thank you for sharing this. This truly touched me. I am a mother of a nine year old little lady and she watches and hears everything that I say and do which encourages me to be the positive role model that GOD wants me to be. The woman in Proverbs 31 is my role model as well and I always pray to mirror her characteristics. This was truly inspirational. Thank you! TO GOD BE THE GLORY!!

  4. Mom Dukes says:

    I am so unworthy, yet I count it an honor to be the mother of this young lady. Everything I’ve ever done – whatever she’s experienced as my child – has been done in thanksgiving; to praise the Lord for his faithfulness; to glorify His HOLY name, to fear him honorably and trust Him boldly as I live for HIM. The Proverbs 31 woman has been the ultimate role model for me for many, many years now. I’m not fit to walk in her shoes, yet the experience of following behind them has been truly amazing… She is an example of a life totally abandoned to God Almighty…. and a life all Godly mothers pray will be taken to heart by their daughters.. in Jesus’ Name….and I praise the Lord for mine…

  5. Dad (Campus Security) says:

    I can not find the words to express how this blogg has maded me fill, so I will just say AMEN!

  6. Sis. Sharon says:

    Claire,

    You delight my heart. Praises to the Lord for blessing with you strong parents and godly convictions to help you navigate this life thus far…now, it’s your turn and I must say, I rejoice at the young lady you are turning out to be!

  7. S. Carter says:

    My baby sister….I’m EXTREMELY Godly proud of how God used you to SLOWLY break this AWESOME example of a Godly women DOWN!!! Sis, you are TRULY ALLOWING God’s light to SHINE THRU your YOUNG(WISE) Soul;-) Love you!!! SOOOO MUCH…

    S. Carter

  8. HANK LLOYD says:

    Woman of God, Her children rise up and bless her; Her husband also, and he praises her, saying: (31:28) The virtuous woman finds reward in the love and praise of her children and her husband, and the knowledge that what she values is pleasing to the Lord. She is a faithful servant of the family and receives their love and praise for her sacrifice and diligence. Stay Gods course, let him lead you, and you will not go wrong, for God is perfect in all ways.

  9. Ray says:

    Awesome. Loved it. I’m 36 and it was a good lesson for me too. Thank you.

  10. Tonyce Fox says:

    Claire,

    I look forward to reading your blogs EVERY WEEK, and EVERY WEEK you amaze me. I love your boldness for the Lord. Keep representing him in all you do. You are definitely an inspiration to me. Love you lil cousin.

  11. boldandfab says:

    Thank you so much to everyone! I am glad that this was able to encourage you as you read it. To God be the GLORY!!

Leave a Reply

