"R U Resting or Sleeping on God's Promise"??

2 Peter 1:4 “He has given us His very great and precious promises, so that by these you might be partakers of the divine nature having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust.”

Monisha (B.C. B4 Christ) was VERY independent and when something needed to be done(DONE RIGHT) I did it myself.  When Truly SURRENDERING my life to Christ that “MIND SET” became a HUGE struggle for me because I still felt the need to “Rest on MY PROMISE” to get it DONE instead of God’s promise of GETTING IT DONE. However, God has ALLOWED me to SUCCESSFULLY enter and GO THRU some situations that HE KNEW there was NO WAY I could DO/HANDLE BY MYSELF; therefore, it FORCED me to “Trust in the LORD with all my heart; and lean not on my own understanding. In all my ways I acknowledged him, and He directed my paths.” You see in this world I find that a lot of people don’t TRULY trust God, though they may SPEAK of trusting Him but their ACTIONS(You know a tree by the fruit it bears) show different. Instead of trusting that God will make a way out of NO WAY people tend to COMPLAIN about what their going thru or call up a friend to tell them what their situation may be. Now don’t get me wrong it’s ok to have someone to confide in and PRAY with or be PRAYED for by that person; however, instead of being frustrated about things that are going on REMEMBER God’s WORD says James 1:12  “Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.” Now, on the FLIP side that verse CLEARLY says “Promised to those who LOVE HIM”;therefore, let me make this as CLEAR as I KNOW because you pray once “God please help me with this situation” or “God please help me get this job” doesn’t mean after your done praying “YOU DON’T HAVE WORK TO DO”. God is a MIRACLE worker(TRUST ME I KNOW) however, you MUST be in His will to even be able to RECOGNIZE when His will is BEING COMPLETED. I give the example of people who say “God’s going to BLESS me with a job” but their at home all day not making an EFFORT to find one “HELLO” the job isn’t going to fall from the “SKY” or you could be going thru some trials and heartache and you may say “God is going to get me thru this” but your not SEEKING Him DAILY your DOING YOU and expecting God to REWARD you for that(SORRY that’s not how it works) those are examples of “SLEEPING ON His promise”. Psalms 31:24 So be strong and courageous, all you who put your hope in the LORD! But you MUST TRULY put your Hope in Him and remember “GOD KNOWS” if your giving Him “ALL YOU GOT”….Deuteronomy 28:7 The LORD will grant that the enemies who rise up against you will be defeated before you. They will come at you from one direction but flee from you in seven. Yes, the Lord PROMISES us A LOT and He will fulfill EVERYONE of them as long as WE are TRULY resting(NOT SLEEPING) on His promise. Today I want EVERYONE to know “WE GOT WORK TO DO” God promises MUCH; However what are WE TRULY DOING to receive/EARN them. Be ENCOURAGED TODAY to “WAKE UP” & stop FALLING ASLEEP on God’s promises(There are SOOOO MANY to receive) and Rest on them by SEEKING Him DAILY. How do I seek Him daily?? Praying, Reading, Giving Him Honor & Glory in ALL you do, spreading His word, Encouraging people in Jesus Name, Doing ALL you can do to HONOR your father who died a HORRIBLE death for you. Joshua 1:9 “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

Be ENCOURAGE and know that whatever your going thru ex. Broken heart, in need of a job, trials, tribulation, scandals, relationship issues and I’m SURE the list GOES ON “Rest on God’s Promise” Just make sure your AWAKE and in HIS WILL to receive it when it comes.  So, today STOP complaining and begin to REST on the promise that God WILL work it out for you ALWAYS But YOU HAVE WORK TO DO AS WELL.

Be Bold

Be Working in Jesus Name

Be AWAKE to receive

Be “Resting” on His Promise

~Monisha Starr Carter~

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Fridays with Monisha. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to "R U Resting or Sleeping on God's Promise"??

  1. Tristan Lewis says:

    AMEN. I had this same conversation with a close family member yesterday. He got upset with me saying I was being too harsh. Not the case. We can’t sit still and expect God to do all the work. He gives us the ability to move on our faith.
    Thank you for this Monisha.

  2. Mom Dukes says:

    You know that old saying, “if u take one step God will take two..”? First of all, God’s will is done with HIM taking NO steps, if that’s what He wants to do… Second, if God waited for us to take steps, NONE of us would be saved.. Jesus says YOU didn’t choose me.. I CHOSE YOU…
    Yea and Amen!!!

  3. Tonyce Fox says:

    Amen. I’m speechless…. I don’t know what to say/write. It’s almost like you know what I’ve (we’ve) been going thru, that message is exactly what I needed to hear.

    Keep being a blessing to ME!!!!!

    Love you,

  4. indigo says:

    Just getting around to reading this sis. My apologies. But of course, you didn’t miss a beat!!!! There is a BIG DIFFERENCE between resting in and sleeping on. I am definitely RESTING IN God’s promises. I trust Him. I don’t have all the answers anyhow, so why try to play God!! He has promised and I want to receive, so I have to be obedient to set myself up for the victory. It’s already done.
    Thanx for this word Mo.

  5. BIG BRIAN says:

    continue to be a BLESSING TO SOOOOOO MANY ,IN GOD’S NAME!!! GREAT BLOG WIFEY!

  6. lil brian says:

    hey mom i really like this, keep walking in the lords paths and continue to set examples for people who really need the Lord. love ur FAVORITE CHILD LOL:))

  7. boldandfab says:

    @ Tristan, I’m glad GOD confirmed thru me your feeling via your conversation w/ that family member….Praise Him!!!!
    @ Mom Dukes & Praise God He chose us or we would be STILL JACKED UP!!! Thanks for your continuous SUPPORT;-)
    @ Tonyce, God speaks THRU MANY & I feel TRULY BLESSED that He continues to speak THRU ME to MANY DAILY. Keep your head up sis Jesus is REWARDING His GOOD & FAITHFUL SERVANTS;-)
    @ Sis, I can always COUNT on your support weekly!!! Thanks for ALWAYS being there on the BLOG & in my REAL LIFE;-) Smooch
    @ Husband & My Handson Young Man(Son) I LOOOOVE the way you two are sneaking on here supporting what God is DOING it REALLY means alot to me….

  8. HANK LLOYD says:

    Gods promise will last forever, he is the only pure one left for us to follow, never rest on God he always has something for you to do, keep his word in your heart, and you will be able to follow his word with you as you sleep and awake. Just remember that God has the palace that you will spend with him forever. Love DAD

Leave a Reply

