Unity in Christ

Over the weekend, I had the chance to visit the National Museum of Natural History with my parents. As I walked through the different exhibits, I began to really take notice of some of the other people who were there too. I noticed that there were a number of different races, ethnicities, cultures and even languages meandering throughout the museum just like me. And for awhile, I was puzzled. I thought, “Why would visitors all the way from….Europe, Japan, Australia, etc. come to Washington, D.C. to the museum??” Then it hit me… It struck me, America is one nation, but made up of a very diverse group of people. There are several epic events in history that tie us to another country in some way. Everywhere I looked, there was a piece of history for everyone in those exhibits! No matter what part of the world you came from, there was something for everybody! Russian, Asian, German, French, Indian, Portuguese, Japanese, you name it, it was there.

Then on Sunday, my pastor taught me something from the Lord’s Prayer that I had never realized before. When we pray “Our Father”, we are praying collectively with other brothers and sisters in Christ. We don’t pray, “My Father which art in Heaven…” But in order to pray collectively like this, we have to share this connection. And the connection is in Christ. It shocked me because I never equated praying “Our Father” as a connection to praying in the spirit with other believers. So I dug a little further. Just how am I connected to my brothers and sisters, even those around the world?

I thought, well as a person, I’m connected to other citizens just by the simple fact that we share a native land. This then connects me to this country, its people and its laws. People can also be connected more commonly as a relative, whether by blood or marriage. But I found there to be 4 distinct ways that we as Christians are connected to each other.

We’re connected by the Spirit that lives within us. 1 Corinthians 12:13 says, “For through the baptism of the one Spirit we were all formed into one body, Jews or Greeks, servants or free men, and were all made full of the same Spirit.” This shows our connection through baptism and also our unity with each other through communion as we commemorate Christ’s death.

I found that I am united with my brothers and sisters in Christ by our hope also. Ephesians 4:4 “There is one body and one Spirit, just as you were called to the one hope of your calling,” We all share the same hope; it is a fundamental component to our faith. This hope is an eternal heavenly inheritance.

Right in the next verse, I found Christians are united through our faith. Ephesians 4:5, “one Lord, one faith, one baptism…” This is the faith that we proclaim. What we believe. And it makes sense because if we’re to be connected, we should all believe the same solid, Biblical truth. There can’t be variants. There is ONE faith amongst us.

Colossians 4:14 is an excellent example of the love that binds us together. “Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.” It says love binds all things in “perfect harmony”. So those united with Christ are also united to each other by this love.

Aside from these four bonds though, we are also united through prayer as when we pray, “OUR Father…” and through fellowship when we can worship together in unity. So it’s nice to belong to a particular set of people, to say you have citizenship in a certain country, but as a Christian….there is SO much more that connects us! The bonds are much more stronger. It ties us so much more tightly together. Creating a true BODY and not just a people or a culture. Though its nice to belong somewhere, it is an HONOR and a PRIVILEGE to belong to the body of Christ. To be able to say, “I belong to the Almighty God, the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords. Yahweh is His name.”

TO THE KING!!

-Claire

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Mondays with Claire and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Unity in Christ

  1. Mom Dukes says:

    I’m so amazed… at the depths of your love for the Lord! Yes, we (Christ Followers) are one body, sharing one faith, needing only one baptism in one unit of love striving to live daily with total reverence for our Almighty Father in Heaven. And we are spread all over the world, thanks to those faithful brothers and sisters who give up all they have to spread the Good News of the Gospel; Jesus Christ, crucified, died, buried, and risen on the Third Day to be reunited with His Father as our Intercessor… Wonderful realizations!!! Love you…..

  2. boldandfab says:

    Sis, what’s EVEN better is when you KNOW your blood born family is on the SAME accord with you(LIKE ME, YOU & MOM Dukes) & it’s an EXTRA BONUS when God throws ppl like my B&F sisters your way;-) SUCH A BLESSING to TRULY belong to the body of Christ & EVEN BETTER to have a personal/REAL relationship w/ TRUE BELIEVERS!!! It’s an AMAZING feeling…..PRAISE God!!!!!! Great word Sis…Love U

    S. Carter

  3. iNDIGO says:

    Yo Claire… this is DEEP girl. I tell you 1 thing, I am so blessed that God has allowed this connection to take place. As Mo mentioned, even w/ how this B&F connection is super effortless, allows me to know that when we as believers are on 1-accord w/ striving for Christ and connecting to Him…the rest is EASY. The line about praying together in the Spirit put chills up my spine. So true. Thank you for breaking this down and for your continued walk w/ the Lord.

  4. Dad (Campus Security) says:

    To the King!!!!

  5. Ify says:

    A genius is not one who knows it all…but one who can explain the complex simply (Albert Einstein). Sis, I am honored and privileged to share the same family as you. You revealed very eloquently what many cannot grasp. Through your words and the Holy Spirit, I pray that this really penetrates the hearts and minds of others (and I see it already has:)

  6. boldandfab says:

    Way to make it plain Claire! Great blog and I too am happy to share the same family. ~ Bianca

  7. boldandfab says:

    I really appreciate your thoughts and comments. It’s such a wonderful thing to know that as a family in Christ, we ARE all on one accord. Connected by Him is far better than any other human bond we could possibly share. I especially like the quote Ify gave from Einstein! TO THE KING!

Leave a Reply

