God is Great, God is Good, Now I Thank You for My Food…”

Yea, so, I’m not gonna front..

I SMASHED on Thursday, Friday, and yes, TODAY! While I always enjoy the time I get to spend with family and the overall feel of the start of the holidays with the marking of Thanksgiving, if I am to be brutally honest, the thing I love the most is the GOOD EATS. This blog will be short and sweet because the only thing that I want to share tonight is this:

Someone once told me that your prayer before eating should always include something new. As a child we may learn an easy prayer (grace) to say before our meals, in order to lay the foundation of starting us kiddies off in the routine of thanking God for provision.

As we grow older, we should consider breaking away from that habit of memorized words, which tend to become more meaningless as time goes by. Instead, we should challenge ourselves to really take time and thank God for the specifics of our life, as our Father deserves a real conversation as opposed to a routine chant. Matthew 6, verse 7 instructs us “And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words”.

My challenge for you this week is to really take time out before EVERY meal, and really THANK GOD for your food and for what He did for you THAT day.

Be specific and be new..

I know for me, I could go on and on about His works..so a new prayer of thanks will NEVER be hard to do.

Sneak peek for next week: Gluttony…mmmhmmm. *smh*

Until then…Be Blessed

_April Christina_

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God is Great, God is Good, Now I Thank You for My Food…”

  1. indigo says:

    Excellent post A.C.C.!! 1) I smash me some food as well. I REFUSE to get on the scale!! lol. 2) Great point about the “routine” prayer thing. Nothing but the truth. Once we get to a point of total adoration of God…worshipping and praising Him simply for WHO HE IS, we realize how redundant those same ol’ food prayers can be. Each day is a new reason w/ new thanksgivings. Thanks so much for reiterating the truth of that. Blessings to you hunnie.

Leave a Reply

