SO FREAGGIN’ BAD!!!!

Although Christian music station 91.9 FM (DC metro area) is my all time favorite one to listen to, like my Bold & Fabulous sisters Bianca & April Christina, I too listen to secular music as well. As a songwriter, singer, and vocal producer, I often listen to the latest trends in vocal stylings, arrangement, and music sounds. One of my favorite secular artists of the moment is Bruno Mars. That boy can SAAANG!!!!

So he has a song with Hip-hop artist, Travie McCoy called, Billionaire. The very first lyrics you hear when the song comes on is Bruno Mars singing: I wanna be a billionaire so freaggin’ bad. Buy all of the things I never had. I wanna be on the cover of Forbes magazine, smiling next to Oprah and the Queen. The very last lyrics you hear in the whole song is him singing: I wanna be a billionaire so freaggin’ bad. This is not one of my favorite songs from him, but the beat is very catchy and has a Carribean, dance-feel to it. Nonetheless, after listening to that song last night, the lyrics make me start thinking about what I want out of life…MORE THAN ANYTHING!!!! {see…y’all thought this was going to be a post about music. Wrong! lol}

Going into 2011 in a couple days, having a 36th birthday coming up on February 2nd, and moving into my 15th year of marriage, I am asking God more and more to reveal to me all the layers of my purpose. I feel myself becoming more open to His callings and I continue praying for the strength, obedience, humility, and endurance to see it all through. Can something as multi-faceted as what I want more than anything even be answered in one blog post? I will try.
I want to be a better Christian. I am not proud. I am a sinner, saved by the grace of God and living a repented life-style daily. Without grace and TRUE repentence, I am no different than any other sinner and my destination would be the same. So knowing this fact makes me want to give MORE, do MORE, worship MORE, praise MORE, read the Bible MORE, pray MORE, love MORE, and WITNESS MORE!!
I want to be a better wife. My husband and I have been married a very long time (in today’s standard of speedy & frequent divorce). We love each other very much, but we have still had our share of issues/problems over the years. I can honestly say that any negative issue we may have encountered came from SIN. Yep, I said it…Sin…the big bad wolf…the 800-pound gorilla in the room that people don’t like to discuss because they want to blame everything and everyone else for their marital problems. Striving to be the wife that God’s word says I should be; a Proverbs 31 wife! As I strive to become a dream spouse on every level, I have to be 100% honest with myself about my negative attributes. If you don’t acknowledge YOUR OWN DEMONS, how the heck can you change?
I want to give give give. Give what? WHATEVER GOD TELLS ME TO!! I started this about two years ago…giving of time, material items, and finances. But I want to do it x10 in 2011. This is a huge deal for me because I wasn’t big on giving before Christ. The way I saw it was, if we work for it, it’s ours. What others don’t have is not my problem. They should have done this or not have done that, to get them in that position. I posted the following on my Facebook page last week: If more Christians understood the value of SOWING n2 others’ gifts & ministries, instead of thinking what they would lack, FAVOR would be at an ALL TIME HIGH!!” I truly believe that. I can truly say that the times my Husband and I have given more, the more it seemed that we ended up with. I’m not only talking about financial blessings, but joy, contentment, and peace. There is nothing better. *Side note: I’m not referring to giving wrecklessly to any and everyone who claims they are in need. I’m referring to where God leads you to give. Trust me, you’ll know the difference.
I want more quality time with friends. Real friends are hard to come by. Godly friendships are a beautiful gift. In knowing that friendships don’t nurture themselves, showing friends how important they are has to become normal everyday practice. My Bold & Fab sister Monisha suggested that we do lunch together on the 1st Thursday of every month to be sure to set aside OUR PERSONAL TIME to reconnect in person. I praise God for her. Being a friend is a proactive experience. Sometimes money can be funny for people, so going out may not always work. But it doesn’t cost much to have friends over for dinner or just sit together talk and watch TV or paint each others nails or pray together, or etc. Friendships are worth the extra effort!
 
Going into the new year, I can honestly say these are the things I want SOOOOO FREAGGIN’ BAD!!!! What do you want? How are you going to accomplish it? Pray about what you want. Does it align with what God wants? Does it even glorify Him? Make 2011 your most BOLD & FABULOUS year EVER!!!
*Wednesdays w/ iNDIGO*
About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Wednesdays with iNDIGO and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to SO FREAGGIN’ BAD!!!!

  1. boldandfab says:

    Okay so I love the part about friendships not growing themselves… I adore my friends, old and new but we hardly ever make time to spend with each other. I have officially added this to my list of things to change in 2011! I don’t want to take for granted that they know how much I love them, I have to be proactive and make time for them as I do everything else in my life… Love the post sis!!
    ~Bianca

    • Indigo says:

      YAY!!!!!! I’m so happy you could pull something from this sis. Praise God for that. You were DEFINITELY in mind as I was typing that sentence as well. God be glorified!!

  2. boldandfab says:

    I must agree I’m a SINNER 2…..SAVED BY GRACE!!!! PRAISE GOD…..I 2 want to become a better IMAGE OF GOD in 2011 & I’m DETERMINED with all MY BEING to do so!!!! I will NOT treat others as they treat me but as God TREATS ME ex. Love, Peace, Forgiveness, & YES GRACE & MERCY!!!! I will CONTINUE to PLAY CLOSE the KEY PPL God has PLACED in my life & show them that I LOVE & CHERISH them(INCLUDING YOU) & MOST IMPORTANT is for me to CONTINUE to read/pray so that when GOD SPEAKS I CAN ACTUALLY HEAR & DO;-) ENOUGH SAID……..I’M OUT!!!

    ~Monisha(SDOT)
    ;-)Smoooooch!!!!!

    • Indigo says:

      Fa’ sho Mdot! Stay determined. Stay on track. Let’s continue to hold our feet to the fire to become better for the Kingdom. Love and appreciate you. Thanx for reading and commenting as always hun.

  3. Tinesha says:

    Wow Jocelyn!! This was right on it for me. Just yesterday I spent some time really praying and asking God for his forgiveness because I hadn’t been asking him what it is that he wants for me as often as I should’ve been in every situation in my life. So I totally agree with you in every section of what it is that you want “so freaggin bad”..lol..I feel you. But most of all, I really want God to lead me in whatever direction he see’s fit for me to go in. And I meant that whole heartedly!!

    Thanks for the eye opener sis!! :0)
    Tinesha!!

  4. Erica says:

    Ok, so I have to admit that I was drawn in by the mentioning of Bruno Mars and the “Billionaire” song (I LOVE BOTH)!!! However, I do very much appreciate that this post was not geared towards that! Firstly, I ask God all the time to help me to give more than I do. I feel as though I try my best to give all the time (whether it is financially, spiritually, my time, etc), but for some reason I am not completely satisfied because I don’t feel as though GOD is completely satisfied! Secondly, with all activities that I have going on in my life right now, and coming up in the future (professionally, educationally, within organizations and ministries), I still also feel the need to connect more personally with my true friends (and family)! Sometimes I get that I’m always busy currently, and I’m affraid that with the responsibilities that I have coming up in the new year, they may create even less time for the ones that I care about! The year of 2011 is dedicated to change and growth, and I will committ to myself (and God) that I will do my best to BE BETTER and DO MORE according to HIS WILL!!! Thanks for the message J, loved it!

  5. Indigo says:

    Praise God Erica. I’m so happy this message ministered to you today. It seems to be a common thread amongst many believers that we all want something SOOOO FREAGGIN’ BAD. It’s just prioritizing. Thanx for reading and commenting.

  6. Tamaa says:

    Very powerful insight. It truly is inspiring and uplifting to read how much God is working in people’s lives. For years I thought being a Christian meant isolation and separation from others. I wanted to protect my mind from negative influences. But I thank God for the Internet. Yes I know there is a lot of trash on the web but there is a lot of good too. I also thank God for women like you who allow God to use them. I pray that God give you what you desire. And I pray he also give you $1 billion to use for his purposes. Blessing to you, your family, and your friends.

    • Indigo says:

      I RECEIVE TAMAA… I RECEIVE!!!! lol. Thank you for your words. Thank God for fellowship, be it on the web, phone, or in person.

Leave a Reply

