A Tribute to MLK

From the title, you probably thought I was gonna talk about Dr. Martin Luther King Jr, didn’t you? Well, I’m not. See I found that MLK J. stands for more than just a great man’s initials. It also stands for My Lord & King, Jesus. One of my first classes today gave a presentation on MLK day. I learned that President Obama declared today a day of service in honor of all that Dr. King did. I thought, “That’s pretty cool.” And for all of today, campus will be hosting different opportunities for students to be able to help one another in some way. Well, it got me thinking. What day is dedicated to Jesus? You know, REALLY dedicated to Him. I don’t mean go to church on Easter, a “Thank you Lord for our blessings, now let’s eat!” or the all-too-becoming “occasional” “Merry Christmas!”. Yeah those days are supposedly centered around Him, but to be honest, He’s getting cut out more and more with each passing holiday. So I thought, what better day than ANY day: TOday.

The class with the presentation is called Campbell University Worship (CUW, for short). The speaker spoke about how persevering & determined Dr. King was. How he served others. I found it almost ironic that the pastor of the church some friends & I attend on campus ALSO spoke about persevering & being faithful & a SERVANT. Hmmm. Coincidence?? I think not. I had wanted to talk about this the past week, but was not feeling like I had just the right inspiration. I prayed about it, & was faithful in going to church. Because to be honest, after all the hanging out & catching up this past week before classes started, I was ALREADY beat.

One thing Pastor Simmons said was, “If you want to be first, you have to be LAST.” Matthew 19:30 says, “But many who are first will be last, and the last first.” Being last doesn’t mean I’m a failure. It doesn’t mean I wasn’t (or can’t be) the best. It means I want to serve. I’d rather act out my joy by putting others first. I learned a pretty neat acronym in children’s church for Joy:

JESUS

OTHERS

YOURSELF

And the call to persevere takes alot of energy. It really does. It takes alot to put someone ahead of you. And we need to push through not only putting others ahead of ourselves by being a servant [much like Dr. King =) ]. But there’s another area in a born-again Christian’s life. The call to persevere consumes the fact that we have to fit OUR LIVES into & around Scripture. We can’t try to make it fit into our pockets. See I learned that being a Christian really is a BOLD act. And with a Word as powerful as the Bible, it CAN’T be toned down. Either it’s gonna shine bright, or it’s not gonna shine at all. And that’s just a fact.

Since God is perfect, we can’t take a perfect God, with a perfect Word & make it fit into a wicked world. And for that, we have to stand strong in the faith. PERSEVERE. That takes courage & His strength. And much like Dr. King & the Ultimate Example, Jesus, we gotta be willing to put ourselves last and other’s first.

So in the end, I want to be a servant. I’ve tried it. And I find that when I put someone else before myself, I reeally do feel true joy. But I know that takes perseverance. And I want to shine just as BRIGHT as possible! So I have to get the Word out. I want to continue to be BOLD (& fabulous) But again, that takes perseverance. And no, it won’t always be easy. No one ever said it would be. But I do have this promise from My Lord & King, Jesus, “Then you will call upon me & come & pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:12-13) With ALL my heart. I will find Him & the strength I need to KEEP persevering through this life. And I’ll take it ONE DAY at a time…

To the KING!!

-Claire

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Mondays with Claire and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Tribute to MLK

  1. Mom Dukes says:

    One role that I’ve found puts your quest for JOY (Jesus, Others, Yourself) to the test is parenting. I’ve spent all of my adult life parenting my gifts (children) and putting them first has given me purpose and a true zest for life. Sometimes the choices made weren’t popular (even with them) but trusting the Lord to lead my decision making has proven to be (almost) fool-proof (the “almost” is my doing, not the Lord!).

    You’re absolutely on the mark, Claire. Putting others before yourself is mind-blowing..and character-building!!! Put God First!!! Start today Ya’ll!!! And everything else will fall in place…..
    HAPPY MyLordandKing, Jesus DAY!

  2. Indigo says:

    Girl… you are ANOINTED! This blog post has blessed my socks off and really CONFIRMED for me my approach to life over the last couple years. It’s not about me AT ALL!!! It’s about who I serve and who I can serve. Outside of Christ, Dr King is a very tangible example of that b/c it was one of his main missions in life. Your post was a reminder to me that servitude is NEVER in vain. It’s not about being recognized for it… it’s about JESUS seeing. God bless you my B&F sister. Love u.

  3. Bobbie Patterson says:

    Praise God…I’m just blown away with this message Claire & how GOD is using YOU!!!!!!

  4. Dad (Campus Security) says:

    WOW!!!!………….

Leave a Reply

