Elizabeth

I’m sitting on the train with two hours to spare and here I am typing to my B&F family. I’m beginning to understand how therapeutic this is for me. I know, I know… this isn’t about me but I’ve been a writer all my life. It wasn’t until July 2010 that I began to make it public. Before then, I considered it hobby… the B&F family made it a mission… and today I’m adding therapy to the mix. Today’s blog is a bit different so I hope you guys don’t mind a little story telling. I promise there’s a point at the end.

She would have stood 5”4 if it wasn’t for the hunch in her back. She walked with her eyes pierced to the ground carefully choosing each step. Her trench coat hung just above her ankles, showing just peaks of her flesh tone stockings, shuffling in her orthopedic shoes with the thick soles. She has her purse clutched under arm, a knapsack wrapped around her shoulder, and an umbrella in hand. Me? I was sitting behind the wheel of my old Honda Civic on a one-way street stuck in a line of unspeakable traffic. Anyone who knows me, knows the frustration that was brewing. After a long day on the job, the last thing anyone wants to deal with is a delay in getting home. I gazed over to see an elderly woman who looked to be in her 80s shuffling past my car. She was moving very slow considering the icy rain that was beginning to fall. I sat for a moment wondering who her family could be? Where was she going? And why was she out at such a late hour alone? I was hesitant to extend a ride to a stranger… what would she think? I decided to go with my instinct and offered her a ride. To my surprise she accepted. I only took her about a block to the Metro Access Bus because she wouldn’t accept my offer to take her home, but in that short time she made a lasting impression on me. We would have just two more chance meetings in which I would extend my contact information if she ever wanted a ride or needed assistance in any way… I wouldn’t hear from her again. I’m not sure of the connection I had with her… maybe it was that I imagined my 93-year-old grandmother alone on the street. Maybe I worried about someone trying to harm her; whatever the case, she always brought me a bit of sadness when I thought of her.

It would be a year we last crossed paths…until I passed her on my ride home yesterday evening. This time I was moving too fast to stop and she was walking in the opposite direction. I thought about making a U-turn but decided against it. For some reason, I didn’t feel the same sadness. Instead, I saw her as symbol of strength. Is it difficult for me to imagine her in the dark, cold, walking the streets alone to wherever her destination? Of course. Would I like to chauffeur her around to make life easier for her? Absolutely. But this time I stopped and thought about what she preferred. She could very well enjoy the independence. She may see it a privilege to be her age and still mobile. As hard as it is for me to fathom my grandmother in the same predicament, Elizabeth’s story doesn’t have to be sad at all. She represents the undeniable strength of a woman and how sometimes in order to get where you want to go you have to go it alone.

You just never know who’s watching you and what you may represent to them. Elizabeth and I have only had a handful of interactions but she has made a lasting impact. Yesterday, I was having a difficult day. So much is going on that my mind gets cluttered and sometimes I think it would be so much easier if I just quit. We go through things in life that can really get us down. People mistreat you and take advantage of you… sudden deaths of friends and loved ones… stress over finances or loss of jobs… but we can’t give up. We were placed here for a reason and your journey isn’t over until God says so. If we want to live out our lives to the fullest, we must push through every adversity or setback. Elizabeth was just going about her day trying to get from point A to point B. Never would she imagine that her journey would give me the encouragement I needed to get through my journey. Elizabeth gave me a boost to my spirit and a renewed energy to press through my situation. One day soon, I hope to be able to thank her.

I hope my little story helps to remind you that your life is not all about you. Someone you’ve never met is watching you or has watched you. What impact has your life made on someone else? Be the best you that you can be… someone is depending on you!

Be Bold

Be Fabulous

Be You

Tuesdays with Bianca

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Tuesdays with Bianca and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Elizabeth

  1. Indigo says:

    This literally brought tears to my eyes. #thatisall

  2. boldandfab says:

    Beautiful!!! & Your ABSOLUTELY right……Thanks 4 the reminder sis!!
    ;-)Smooch……SDOT

  3. Bobbie Patterson says:

    Thanks for this inspiring & encouraging story….It really touch my HEART!!!!!!

  4. L. Raines says:

    Keep pressing on B! I admit I forget to check your blog (sorry I will be better supporter going foward!) and I am glad I checked today. I really feel these words…..

  5. Shawn says:

    Every interesting read. Clever even. One thing i agree with is “You just never know who’s watching you and what you may represent to them”. I highly doubt that “elizabeth” was an elderly women rather she represents your past or someone in it as well as your present(wink wink) you know what Im talking about. Sure pretend to everyone that your this Good Christian and its all about the Lord etc. Are you even in a moral position to preach? Because i hear a lot of that. Honda civic huh. i bet. That was a good one. What i know is that when someone deals in writing or music words are meaningful and they have double meanings if not more. Who are you kidding sis stop playing yourself. What i don’t get and will never understand is if being gay is okay why are most people who are gay like you hiding it? I say leave it alone or make no apologies about it and deal with what comes with it. After all only God and judge you right? That was really sweet how you thought of your lover a few days before you birthday I’m sure you guys are in good standings. Not so clever after all.

    • Bianca says:

      I have no idea who you think I am or what you’re talking about. I could have deleted this comment but decided to leave it alone. You have a right to post what you want but let me make a few things clear… I am not gay and never claimed to be in the past. I do not judge. My story was absolutely about an elderly woman I met a while back… and I most certainly drove a Honda civic. Oh and my birthday is in November! You’re clearly mistaken. I’m not sure what you read into my post but I can tell you for sure that you are way off the mark. But Selah. I encourage you to continue to follow our blog and get to know us for real.

      • I am all about free speech! I really am… but Bianca, you really should delete this post. It takes away from the beauty of the story and the lesson to be learned. As someone who knows you better than almost anyone on this earth…. This person must really have you mixed up with someone else. It’s absolutely insane… And kind of sad that someone can pervert your kindness, warm nature and desire to inspire into some delusional interpretation.

  6. Elle says:

    I have been reading this blog since Oct when my niece put me on. I read it everyday and am always blessed. This is the first comment I have ever left b/c of the negative comment of “Shawn”. First I want to say to Bianca that you are a class act and your response to his or her comment shows God is living inside you. I am not where you are yet but pray for the strength not to blow up when hateful people attack me. Second I will just say this, “Shawn” is the type of person that is being used by satan to discourage Christians who are trying hard to turn over a new leaf in Christ. Whether he/she posted to you in error is irrelevant. The point is there are Christians all over the world who have a past, myself included, who have lived a life before Christ that we aren’t proud of. I was a stripper in the 90’s. When I got saved in 2000 I wanted to talk about it but God spoke to me not yet. So I waited. I was not ashamed of it b/c I knew God had washed me clean. But just like “Shawn”, I had people coming out the woodworks, calling themselves outing me b/c I was being bold for God. If its not true or is, don’t worry. Allow God to deal with him/her. It wasn’t til 2 years ago that God said go and tell my story and I did. Not speaking about that part of my past when people from my past wanted me to didn’t mean I was hiding it. I will pray your strength in the Lord. I will pray for all you ladies. The devil is always prowling like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Allow God to deal w/ your haters, stay rooted in your word, continue growing in vertical relationship w/ God, and pray for your enemies just as Jesus did on the cross. Pray that “Shawn” will find his/her own purpose in life and put that purpose into action in leading someone to be saved.

    • Bianca says:

      Thank you so much for your thoughtful and transparent comment. I agree wholeheartedly with you. I can assure you that this was a case of mistaken identity. I am a part of a mission to be BOLD & Fabulous for Christ so you can believe if my past reflected any of what he/she said, I would have revealed it a long time ago. It takes all kinds to make up this world so I’m not moved by hateful, misinformed comments. I represent more than myself so I must always remember to allow God to order my steps as well as my tongue. I thank you again for your continued support! To God be the glory!

  7. indigo says:

    That msg was obviously not meant 4 u sis but u know what, this is not our first “hate mail” & it surely won’t be the last. As long as there are angry, selfish, sad folks out here, there will always be angry, selfish, sad approaches 2 God’s warriors!! After reading their message 2 u, i found myself feeling sorry 4 them…not realizing the power of a Holy God & His ability 2 change anything & any1. So, we must press toward our mark & assignment & pray 4 this person along the way. On another note, my mom loved this post b/c it reminded her of herself & her mindset in her empathy toward the elderly.

  8. Pam says:

    Bianca…I’ve read this blog about 4 times and love it more each time. I remember when you met Elizabeth and the impact it had on you. I’ve also read the comments that followed. I wanted to comment on the negative reply made by someone who obviously doen’t know you. I attempted several times but realized I sounded like an overprotective mom (imagine that). That said…I would like to ditto what Sanchez posted. Thank God for change…because the old me would have responded very differently. I love the BoldandFab…and I love you more…

  9. Pingback: Simple Humanity | The BOLD & The FABULOUS

  10. Pingback: Simple Humanity | tuesdayswithbianca

Leave a comment