The Prayer that Lasts All Day

You know, prayer is a big thing.

 

Lots of pastors preach about it. So many evangelists talk about it. And I often find myself throughout the day doing it. But what is it? Is it simply talking to God? It’s the practice of the presence of God. In other words, its acting like you know He’s there so you talk to Him. Prayer is where I abandoned pride. Because we all have it. But when talking to God, my Creator, my Father…..what use is Pride to me? Hope is lifted through prayer. You know that feeling you have when something is on your chest and it almost feels like a literal weight? It won’t go away, and you can’t stop thinking about it? Well when I pray, and I just talk and let God know everything that’s on my heart, afterwards, I feel so relieved. So energized and enthusiastic. Ready to keep on going. It’s also through prayer that we adopt humility, declare dependence on God and acknowledge our sins and ask forgiveness.

Praying is exercising faith and hope. It’s a chance to speak directly to a God who knows all, understands all and loves ultimately. James 4:8 says, “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.” Pray is that pathway that helps us do that. He’s already close because He’s always there, but if you need to know that He’s really there, pray. Continuously. See I think, people sometimes over think prayer. It doesn’t have to be long-winded, glorious and “Oh-my-goodness, I can pray using big words no one else will understand!” No. In fact, Matthew 6:5 says, “And when you pray, you must NOT be like the hypocrites. For they love to stand and pray in the synagogues and at the street corners, that they may be seen by others. Truly I say to you, they have received their reward.” Instead, Jesus says we are to pray to our Father who is in secret. Not being showy, proud or boastful. (Matthew 6:6 “But when you pray, go into your room and shut the door and pray to your Father who is in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.”)

Does it really matter? Yes. It does. What relationship works with little to no communication? And when we don’t pray, not only do we miss out on the chance to speak with someone who understands us through and through like NO OTHER, we miss the opportunity to hear what He has to say to us too. As I look over my week, I find that it’s easy to pray going into a week and even coming out of a week, but what about all that time in between? Aren’t those days just as important as say, Sunday, and maybe Wednesday? And aren’t the hours in the day the same as the one’s where we wake up, (“Thank you, Lord for waking me up. Amen”) and when we go to bed (“Thank you, Lord for seeing me through this day. Amen”)? And let’s not forget the quickie we do before meals. Not to say those prayers aren’t as important as any other, but how full would you feel if all you ate was crumbs for breakfast and the same old crumbs for dinner.

Gee. Boring.

Prayer is like the substance of our relationship. Communication is key and Prayer is that highway. Without it, we would grow distant. When prayer has no flavor to US, its monotone, too predictable and overused, imagine how it sounds to God. Wouldn’t you get tired of hearing the same old thing at the same old time. And then Oops!! I’m in a jam, so let me REALLY pray this one out.

…. …No.

He deserves much more than that. And the Bible says we should carry ALL things to Him in prayer (Philippians 4:6 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.”) Even the little things. I have had several occasions were I may be in class and something will run through my mind that I’m grateful for, or that I’m looking forward to, or that I just want to say to Him. Those things matter too. God is not too big that He cannot hear what I’m saying. WHEN I say it. And that keeps me talking with Him all day long. The thing about prayer though, you gotta be willing to listen to what He says AFTER too. See that matters too. Because sometimes, after praying, a verse will come to mind. It may either be an answer, or just something to think about. And it can go on and on and on. And before you know it, classes are over for the day, you’re off work, you’ve had your dinner and when you lay in bed and think back on the day, you’ll come to see that you talked to God all throughout the day. And it wasn’t as hard to do as it seemed.

To the KING!!

-Claire

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Mondays with Claire and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Prayer that Lasts All Day

  1. Mom Dukes says:

    You, my darling, have discovered the essence of “prayer without ceasing.” It’s a priviledge and an honor to talk to/with the Lord all day long. Keep that communication going… it’s the most important part(s) of your day! Love ya….

Leave a Reply

