HAVE FUN!!

I have noticed something I will venture to call… hmmm, let me think of an appropriate word; Interesting. Yeah, that’ll do it!

Since I have been on this trip to Ethiopia and posting photos on my Facebook page, I have had a recurring theme from onlookers, “Have fun!” I do understand that coming to a place many people will never get to go looks very attractive, but sometimes I feel that folks don’t understand that my primary purpose here is to do a job. I am a hired, professional singer, along w/ three other ladies, who are in a beautiful land WORKING!

This isn’t something that just started as a result of me leaving the country. Even before, when I would say, “I have a songwriting session w/ so-and-so artist tonight” or “I have to teach vocal lessons at the studio tonight” or etc., still people’s main response is “Have fun!”

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE what I do. But make no mistake, I work very hard. Being in business for yourself and/or using your gifts as a job tends to look like a hobby to onlookers. People hear that you’re in the studio and to them, it must be all fun and games. Because I am generally at home during the day, they’re thinking to themselves, “Wow! She’s chillin’…must be nice!” They don’t understand that I spent a good part of that day studying a song structure to teach later on that evening. Then at 5pm, I actually go to the studio to work on that song for whomever, and may not leave until 2’oclock in the morning. I work my butt off to give a quality service. If I get sick, I have to go in anyway because I don’t have sick leave. If the artist/client session doesn’t happen, I don’t get paid.

It can be a hard job, but it is also very rewarding to see your creativity make great songs for other singers. Contrary to what many think, you don’t have to be famous to have a career in music. But in the same token, I think it’s hard for the average person to respect a non-famous professional Singer, or Songwriter, or Producer, or Vocal Coach, or etc. Often times I have found myself regularly wanting to say, “Have fun” to folks I know as they head off to their 9 to 5 jobs, just to see what kind of reaction I would get. But I digress.

It seems that I have used this post today to vent some… oh well, it’s cool! But the bottom line is this, just as Romans 2:11 states that God is no repector of persons, we have to remember that everyone who is out here working to make a decent, HONEST living is on the same level. Some people are white collar, others are blue; some are Painters, others dance; some are Doctors, others are Social Workers. Some love what they do, others can’t wait for a career change. But it’s all a living. Don’t downplay what others do because of YOUR PERCEPTION of what goes into it. If you don’t do it, you have NO IDEA!

You seeing me chillaxin’ poolside in a photo is not an indication of what I do as a whole. This trip has really shown me how important it is to make time to relax when you do work hard. It has given me a BOLD & FABULOUS, fresh perspective. When I get back home, I am not going to be stressed out about much. I will retain my same work ethic but will be sure to make ME TIME a priority as well.

*Wednesdays w/ iNDIGO* 

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Wednesdays with iNDIGO and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to HAVE FUN!!

  1. Pierre says:

    Wow, you hit the nail on the head! I am thankful that I enjoy the work that I do, but enjoying what I do isn’t the same as having fun. I have fun when I play video games; when I am working, I am working.

    I hope you are ENJOYING your experience in Ethiopia, can’t wait to see you when you get back!

    • Indigo says:

      I know that YOU understand me on this one P!!! =D

    • Lynx says:

      Yes! Indi I get the same responce sometimes when I’m going out to do a job. “Have Fun” is what they say. Just because your job is not like the everyday 9 to 5 person. It’s ok, because for those people that don’t understand how hard we word towards our craft to them it is fun! So I say do enjoy yourself and have fun because at the end of the day “We Smile” and say to ourselves I am living the dream! And no man can take that away from you! Love Ya!

      • Indigo says:

        Indeed my super-duper talented MAKE-UP ARTIST!!! Thanx so much for reading and commenting. Love ya back!!!!

  2. Tiane says:

    I LOVE THIS ONE CUZZO! You really did nail it! I used to feel this alllllll the time while teaching and still get it every once in a while b/c I practice “public interest” law and work for the FEDS! Not the “have fun” thing so much, but the *side eye* and under the breath talk that let’s you know people don’t think what you are doing is that serious. Bottom line folks love to judge, I think in part b/c it makes them feel better about themselves to tear down another! Your cousin in law would definitely love this one b/c he gets this a lot to. Thanks again for sharing! Miss and love you lots!!

    • Indigo says:

      Right cuzin!! lol. Cuzin-in-Law can def relate to me on this one!!! Thanx for reading and commenting. I know how busy you are so it means a lot. Love u back.

  3. Bianca says:

    PREACH! I want you to enjoy your trip and all that it entails… working, sightseeing, relaxing, networking… Do it all!!! Miss you!!

  4. theresa pink says:

    Amen! your work ethic is all the hook. you make it look so smooth but I know it is alot that goes into it. enjoy your journey. God bless and miss u!

    • Indigo says:

      Thanx Tdot! =D
      You can definitely relate to this post as a full time artist. I miss u also. Looking forward to ur CD release!!!!!!!

  5. Tinesha says:

    ok…I had to laugh when you made the comment about wanting to say “have fun” to others who are leaving for work..lol…:0). Some good stuff lady!! I know you work hard, and try to relax just as hard when you get a chance. BTW I love the picture posted on here of your feet relaxing. It’s speaks measures!! :0) YOu know I’m going to have to say that to somebody now who’s on their way to work, right??..lol..Keep it coming sis, I’m loving it!!
    T.T

  6. Indigo says:

    Thanx so much T.T. for continuing to read and comment. I hope the blogs are a blessing to you.

Leave a Reply

