Tat Tat Tatted Up…

Yall ready to do some BIBLE STUDYING? lol…

Leyygoo…

Ok so today I did something a bit CONTROVERSIAL. Well, to some it may be, but for me I guess it is something that I have questioned for years now… I’d LOVE to hear what you ladies and gents think…

I’d be lying if I told you that I didn’t have any body art, but the fact of the matter is that as of today I now have a total of 4 tattoos : /

Yes, I said F O U R!

Now, they are really small and nearly unnoticeable, but to many folk, this form of artistic expression is widely unaccepted in the traditional Christian doctrine. Sort of akin to skirts above the knee, body jewelry, and excessive makeup worn by women. These “no no’s” have long formed the opinion of many when it comes to the concept of being Saved. As a firm believer in the Word as the bread of life, I have consulted scripture time and time again to search for answers to these antiquated beliefs. And while the Bible does reference on several occasions the requirement to keep our bodies Holy for God to use and to preserve our “temples“, there is definitely some debate when it comes to the question of tattoos. Leviticus has often been used as the verse opposing tattoos, where the newer translations of scripture such as the NIV and Amplified actually use the term “tattoo”. However, the verse, Leviticus 19:28, in the King James translation reads “Ye shall not make any cuttings in your flesh for the dead, nor print any marks upon you: I am the LORD.” which for me could be interpreted several ways.

As I read more of the context, I understood that much of this chapter is in relation to the pagan practices of witchcraft. Perhaps the verse simply speaks against demonic body prints that pagans used as a form of worship to false gods. In which case there is certainly some room to argue that the cross I have on my body is an exception to this “law”. Not to mention the fact that Leviticus is Old Testament, and Old Testament Laws are often questioned in the New Testament, especially when Jesus himself dismisses old traditions for new ones (see all four Gospels, but especially Matthew 15 and Mark 3).

At the end of the day, the only thing I am absolutely, 200% sure of is my salvation. And while I may never know the answers to all of my questions about laws, and rules, and such, I do know that God loves me unconditionally and looks beyond my silly faults.

So what’s the bottom line?

ACCEPT NOTHING, QUESTION EVERYTHING.

Search for yourself when you are unsure about God’s laws. Ask the questions and seek Him. DO NOT JUST SAY YES to tradition, but challenge the teachings and discern for yourself what you believe to be true, because at the end of the day if your relationship with God is genuine, your relationship with His word should be just as REAL… and the more we read, pray, and seek, the more HE ADDS unto us!


_April Christina_

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tat Tat Tatted Up…

  1. Tunde says:

    Did you notice you have three fingers up in this pic, April? LOL! I can’t help but think of Brah-man (from fif flo) at the sight of it.

    Anyway, I beg to differ of your assertion that Jesus Himself dismissed the old traditions for new ones (and I wish to mention, at this point, that I don’t intend on being disagreeable, rather observant). While you certainly protected your “hiny,” by saying “traditions” rather than “laws,” however, your reference about tattooing is to a “law,” which Jesus said He did not come to abolish, but live out (Matt 5:17).

    When you illuminated the context in which the law was given, it gives room for Christians also to get tattoos, though I still personally have reservations about it. But when you look at and pay close attention to this part of the law: “nor print any marks upon you,” you will notice that it does not have a dependence on anything else as the “cuttings in your flesh” does for the dead (hence my reservation). So, I’m still left wondering if God was still speaking in context of pagan worship, or in general.

    As I said earlier, I’m not trying to butt heads with you, but I can’t help but notice that you haven’t really biblically justified getting one, and I’m also losing this fight to NOT think that you’re admitting to some modicum guilt here by saying how sure you are of your salvation.

Leave a Reply

