A Small Universe, A GREAT God

Sometimes we just need to know that our God is greater than all our problems. Take a look at the Universe. In one of my first morning classes today, they showed us a slide show of the universe starting with the smallest planet and running all the way past the Sun. They were even stars I had never heard of before. When you see a picture of the just the STARS in the universe, it blows my mind that the Creator of one SO great, took just the most special time to create someone so small as me.

There are alot of things that we struggle with as humans, adults, teens, Christians, family members, and friends. My entire freshman’ class was invited to jot down one thing that was a BIG  issue in their life and the guest speaker for today shared a few anonymously. Man, the topics were all over the board! They were as big as “trying to keep my focus on God in school” to as simple as “I struggle with finding the motivation to wake up to get to class on time.” (I can DEFINITELY relate to this one). But some of these struggles weren’t necessarily lifelong struggles. One teen was struggling with his class for today because he knew he had a quiz he wasn’t prepared for.

But you know what? My God is GREATER than all the things my 987-incoming-freshman-class could put up. So if He’s greater, what’s the problem? The problem seems to lie between two things. Either  A) We fail to realize how Great He is, and/or B) We realize it, but we don’t turn our problems over to Him.

Personally for me, I was consumed with the thought of the Anatomy practicle I had today. It covered EVERYTHING I’ve learned in lab (minus the first two weeks of class) from the beginning of this semester and it counts for 50% of my Biology grade. =/ That was a BIG issue for me! This grade can make me or break me, as they say.

But you know what?? Great and Big as that practicle may have been, my God is GREATER and BIGGER!

Even the Prophet Isaiah had some issues. We see it in Isaiah 6:1-8 when he says, “…Doom! It’s Doomsday! I’m as good as dead! Every word I’ve ever spoken is tainted– blasphemous even! And the people I live with talk the same way, using words that corrupt and desecrate and here I’ve looked God in the face!” (Message Translation)

So from here, I can see how Isaiah was saying something like, “This life I’ve been living is just wretched. And here I am, looking upon God Himself!” He was thinking small. I learned from our guest speaker today, that we’ve got to stop thinking small and start thinking of how much greater God is! He who breathes out stars, can certainly take control of that addiction to the Internet, the pride we can’t let go, the sourness and bitterness in our attitudes sometimes. And He even can control the anxious of taking a practicle. We just have to give it all over to Him.

That picture of the solar system really helped me put things into perspective. When you start looking at stars further past the Sun, even the Earth becomes teeny tiny. What we think is soooo magnificent and glorious, so big and dominate, in respect to those other stars God created, Earth is just a tiny golf ball. And as we look deeper into the galaxy, it begins to disappear. So are we. We are just vapors in the wind. James 4:14 says, “Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while then vanishes.”

It makes me marvel that God would love someone as small as me as Great as only HE can…

To the KING!!

(Below is a link to YouTube that has a very beautiful video of Earth with respect to those HUGE stars in the universe). It’s only 2 minutes long.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BFwQAaE7I_Qo

-Claire

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Mondays with Claire and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Small Universe, A GREAT God

  1. Mom Dukes says:

    WOOOW Claire! You know, while reading your blog I heard this hymn in my head:

    O LORD my God! When I in awesome wonder
    Consider all the works Thy hand hath made;
    I see the stars, I hear the mighty thunder,
    Thy pow’r throughout the universe displayed:

    Then sings my soul, my Saviour God, to Thee,
    How great Thou art! How great Thou art!
    Then sings my soul, my Saviour God, to Thee,
    How great Thou art! How great Thou art!

    Verses 3 and 4 are what life’s all about, though….

    And when I think that God, His Son not sparing,
    Sent Him to die – I scarce can take it in:
    That on the Cross, my burden gladly bearing,
    He bled and died to take away my sin:

    When Christ shall come with shout of acclamation
    And take me home – what joy shall fill my heart!
    Then shall I bow in humble adoration,
    And there proclaim, my God how great Thou art!

    Thanks Sweetie! Wonderful insight into a WONDERFUL GOD….. Love you….

  2. Dad (Campus Security) says:

    Great BLOG, I have seen that video and it is awwwwesoooome. Keep the focus and continue to trust the ONE who made the heavens and earth and all that we see and can not see.

Leave a Reply

