If I Can’t Bring God, Then I Don’t Wanna Go

Reflecting… this will be short and sweet…

Today I delivered my Masters Portfolio Presentation, as a final requirement for graduation. I was charged with presenting some of the most impressive pieces of my portfolio in front of Johns Hopkins Doctors and Professors in the field of education. Now, most education masters candidates choose to show how they were able to use specific teaching strategies such as literacy, writing and technology strategies to improve the learning of their students. This is the safe route.

Um..anyone who knows me, knows I NEVER take the safe route.

So what did I present, yep, you guessed it..a NONTRADITIONAL Presentation, which I titled “Love First, Teach Second: Strategies in Building Classroom Culture and Fostering Successful Learners”

Umm…yea..so… I basically showed how I was able to implement strategies of LOVE in my classroom last year and this year. What’s the big deal you ask? Well, considering the way the world is going these days, it shouldn’t surprise you to know that 1. Love in the classroom is definitely discouraged, and 2. Most people wouldn’t dare present that at a masters conference, without sufficient research other than just experience to support it.

The thing is, My Father is sufficient research. You see, I have had overwhelming success with my “inner-city” kids because of one single factor, I brought God in my room. No I didn’t preach to my kids, and no I didn’t indoctrinate them, but I PRAYED for them every night, and I fasted for them, and I was obedient to God’s call for my assignment over the last two years. It is not coincidence that my kids had the BEST passing scores for standardized tests overall in my school last year. I PRAYED ON THAT, and God showed up and showed out. What’s my point? I was able to be the most effective teacher possible these last few years because I had the love of God operating in me. I tell my kids everyday that I love them and mean it when I say it. This small gesture has meant so much and has allowed me to reach and teach my kids in a way that no other teacher in my building can understand. All of that to say, I presented this concept to DOCTORS  at one of the most prestigious schools in the country and they LOVED every second of it. Let’s just say I DID THAT.lol

If God be FOR ME…

These last two points I think sum up my rant for today (You can probably tell I’m tired…its been a LONG day)…

1. If you are obedient to God’s call, HE WILL ALWAYS show up and show out.

2. It is certainly possible to have God in EVERYTHING that we do. At this point in my life, there is no such thing as separating my life into two pieces, secular and holy. If I can’t bring God, then I won’t go. PERIOD.

I give myself away,

_April Christina_

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If I Can’t Bring God, Then I Don’t Wanna Go

  1. boldandfab says:

    Love, Love, Love it!!! ~ Bianca

  2. Pop-Pop says:

    Marvelous

Leave a Reply

