OPERATION SCRIPT FLIP, pt 2

So last week I revealed the BREAKING NEWS that I am no longer classifying myself a Gospel Artist {Please visit last Wednesdays post for further clarification if you missed out}. This week, I will go a little deeper into the points I made last week in an attempt to drive my point(s) home.

Since I work out of X-Posure Entertainment Studio (Bowie, MD), I am around just as many (if not more) secular artists. As I was in prayer about how to move forward w/ regards to detaching myself from man-made labels (oh yes…it’s been months since this process started inside me), God was putting me in the space of believers who chose to sing secular music. It was hard for my programmed mind to conceive of it b/c if you’re SOLD OUT for CHRIST, you wouldn’t dare not sing “JESUS” in every song or label yourself Gospel, right? Things that made me go, “Hmmm.”

Before I left for Ethiopia, God put this to the test. I was put in a position to write and produce a CD for a popular, annual Women’s Conference in DC. The instructions of the project were explicit… no slanting towards religion, age, etc. The songs had to motivate women… PERIOD! The music alone had to inspire and encourage women from all walks of life to live their best lives on purpose and NOW; no matter their situation. I went for it! After hearing the CD completed, with various artists (including myself) singing these songs I wrote and vocally produced, I was moved to tears. {Feel free to hear song snippets by clicking here}. Knowing this is a gift God gave me and knowing these songs could propel someone forward to a better life was a great moment in my own life. I give God all the praise and honor for it. With or without this CD being labeled Gospel, it was developed by a woman of God. I am no less saved after doing a Motivational CD than I was before doing it.

Last week, my Pastor lead me to Galatians 1:10 as a reminder and confirmation: For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.

Professionally, I got my start in music on the secular side. I have seen the good, the bad, and the ugly sides of the music industry… the secular and “Christian” sides. Just like there are some secular artists who are striving daily to live Godly lives (I feel very comfortable using LEDISI as an example here), on the flip side, I have been in very close contact with Gospel artists (local and national) who do not appear to be striving at all. They have chosen to label themselves Gospel artists, regardless of their lifestyles and/or blatant disregard for God’s word. Don’t get me wrong… I am in no position to judge anyone. The word says, He who is w/o sin, cast the 1st stone” John 8:7 [paraphrased]. But clearly when one has or is developing an intimate relationship w/ God, the inner workings of that relationship start to manifest outwardly. 

Being on the Gospel side for the past few years has afforded me opportunities to see the worst in some of the industry’s most respected Gospel artists. From slander/gossip run amuck, to continuous/unrepented adulterous relationships, to arrogance/pride at an all time high, to those using the Gospel industry to capture the fame they weren’t able to achieve on the secular side, even to those whose bibles never leave the front seats of their cars until Sunday morning… I have seen it all. Jesus says it best in  2 Chronicles 7:14: “if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” 

On the flip side, I have been around the tried and true Christian Gospel artists whose lives are a daily reflection of the great Jehovah God… those who glorify God with every note they sing, step they walk, and word they speak. Those who are slow to anger and quick to right a wrong/apologize/make things right w/ their brother/sister. Those who read the word; those who pray/intercede, and those do good works OFF THE RADAR (not just when they have a single to promote). 

The moral of the story is that if you feel that God is calling you into the ministry, HEED THE CALL! If you’re a singer who got saved and feel God tugging at your heart to exclusively sing Gospel music, HEED THE CALL. But remember that God knows your heart. If you’re being REAL with Him, He’ll know regardless of a genre you choose. You’re not representing the music, you’re representing Him BOLDLY w/ your life. At the end of the day, it’s all feeding your FABULOUS testimony and meant to be a blessing to someone.

*Wednesdays w/ iNDIGO*

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Wednesdays with iNDIGO and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to OPERATION SCRIPT FLIP, pt 2

  1. boldandfab says:

    Go head sis!!! I don’t care what you categorize your music as… it’s going to be fire no matter what because of your heart toward God and His people! Can’t wait to see you!!

    ~Bianca

  2. boldandfab says:

    : ) : ) : )
    T-Minus….uhh..yea..
    I guess you’re already in the air!
    -ACC

  3. Indigo says:

    Hey A.C.C! Yes girl, I’m home. Thanx for reading and for your B&F commitment. Agape.

Leave a Reply

