Love Letter to My Mother

I was inspired by Monisha… go read hers PLEASE and THANK YOU!

I have decided to use today’s post as a public gift to my mother for Mother’s Day! Even if you do not particularly care for this holiday, please read on, as there is a Word in here for you too…

Dear Mommy,

For 35 years you have given of yourself, unconditionally, and unselfishly, to your children, making sure that our needs came before yours. You have worked, sometimes two and three jobs, to make ends meet and see to it that we never went without. All of the field trips and band concerts, cheerleading events and fundraisers, you were there. You played the roles of both Mom and Dad for us, never allowing us to see you cry, even though we knew the tears were there. You made sacrifices that we will never know, just so that we went to bed with full tummies and clean clothes for school.

You showed us how to cook, clean, read, write, walk, run, ride a bike, and everything in between, never losing your patience. You loved us even when we talked back and rolled eyes and sucked teeth. Your spankings were done in love. : o

You made sure that each year, we had new school supplies and new school clothes, even though you had nothing new in your closet. It is because of you that we know God. I cannot fathom how many nights you prayed for us and for our future. You made thrift store shopping feel like lottery day for us. Living in a shelter felt like home because we had YOU.

You have shown me how to be a woman of integrity, always to tell the truth and never to accept wrongs, but to stand up for what is right. You showed me how to open my heart up to others, and always show love and respect, even to those who hurt me. You kissed my scratches and helped to heal my wounds. You showed me what hard work looks like. Even after working 12 hours, you were never too tired to watch a movie with us. You made raising 6 kids alone, look easy, doing it with charm and class, never giving up on us and our futures.

You have raised 6, successful, healthy, CHRISTIAN children. You have tried to better yourself by going to school and learning more. You have been a faithful wife and grandma.

I honor you on this day for all of the reasons listed above, but mostly because YOU LOVE ME and for being my BEST FRIEND, like no one on this earth ever can. I cannot believe I was given you as a mother. I am the luckiest girl on the planet. If I had one wish, it would be to keep you forever and let others feel some of your love. As tears stream down my face, I just want you to know that I publicly proclaim, Mommy I love you and Happy Mother’s Day.

To Ms. Mumford, I love you the same, and I THANK GOD for you as a second mom. I cannot imagine life without you while My mom has been in Korea. You have helped to mold me into the woman I am today, and I say thank you. This letter is dedicated to you too.

R.I.P. Ms. Pat. Love you.

For all those missing their mom today, KNOW THAT GOD has stepped in on her behalf and promises to take care of you and her, until the day you will meet again.

Sincerely,

_April Christina_

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Love Letter to My Mother

  1. Mom says:

    Thank you my loving daughter, I can’t see for the tears in my eyes. I am so blessed to have been chosen for you 6. Through all the ups & downs-all 6 of you managed to love me and praise me even when I made mistakes. We had very hard times and you kids NEVER made me feel bad about what I couldn’t give you and always appreciated what little I could give. GOD is so loving and merciful because he keeps on blessing me despite my short comings. Y ou are a beautiful woman, daughter and you inspire me. I Love You April Christina Curley.

  2. Indigo says:

    WOW! Beautiful A.C.C. Happy Mother’s Day to your mom and all the mother’s God allowed the gift of motherhood. They should be celebrated.

  3. Jennifer Beckwith says:

    Beautiful boo! I love you girl and Ms. Michelle….Happy Mother’s DAy to you to! I love and miss you dearly!

  4. Monisha S. Carter says:

    Praise God……You have a beautiful family 2^_^!! Your mom should be proud.

    Smoooch(SDOT)

Leave a Reply

