I’m On My Dumbo

My Prayer: God give me the ears of Dumbo, so I can hear your voice above anyone else, and fly to new heights as I listen to your directions. 

This week I was offered a very prestigious position to work on a team recruiting at HBCU’s, and persuade Black college graduates to consider teaching in the city.

This position for next year was something that I’ve wanted for some time and when the time came for me to apply, I did it under the full guidance of God. I literally put all of my eggs in God’s basket, KNOWING  He wouldn’t fail me. I began to understand this week the concept of discernment; the ability to hear God’s voice above all others. How much better would life be for us if we just trained our ears and hearts to recognize God’s voice? Because this has been my prayer for some time now, I have gotten a little better with discernment, but still I yearn for more.

With discernment, we don’t need a plan B because God’s plans never fall through. It’s when WE start making plans that WE find ourselves stuck midway and calling on God to get us out of it. I no longer want to be stuck, lost, confused, unsure, disobedient, unruly, and irreverent.

Jesus clearly invites us to seek God’s voice, as He says recorded in Luke 11:9, “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you

One of my favorite verses says in 1 Corinthians 2:10 “…but God has revealed it to us by his Spirit. The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God.” The deep things of God? You mean to tell me I can be allowed into some of the DEEP THINGS of GOD? WOOOWWWW!!

While Harvard is the next step for me, and to some that may seem sorta big, I know that God has worked it out, and I will listen to EvERY direction He gives me to get me there.

What is your next move? Or what is God’s next move for you? Do those two questions align?
God speaks on a frequency that not many can hear.. Are your ears tuned into that channel?


Be blessed, with ears wide open
_April Christina_

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m On My Dumbo

  1. Bianca says:

    Seriously?!!! Where were you Sunday? You HAD to be at my church. Were you under a chair or hiding behind the audio boards?? Jocelyn AND Mo will attest to this whenever they get around to reading that this was EXACTLY what my Pastor spoke about on Sunday. But wait you wrote this on Saturday so you couldn’t have been snooping around the church lol!!! God always confirms His Word through others around me. He never fails at that or anything for that matter. Great blog sis!! I want dumbo ears too!

Leave a Reply

