Seventeen Couldn’t Tell Me

You know how you hear alota people talking how young teens think they know everything these days? …I’m sure you’ve heard that. Well some do. Let’s take a fairly EXPLOSIVELY common topic like…: Love. So these “know-it-all” youngsters (who get sucked into the vortex as young as elementary school these days) think they know a thing or two about love. Well they get a lot of influence from the media, and their peers, and even some from church (provided they go).

But I found out what true love is. And I didn’t have to look in Seventeen to see the latest teen celeb anniversary made it to a shocking THREE weeks!! (*exaggeration*)

The other day, I saw what true love was when I had to watch my mom and dad say Goodbye. Now being an older teen and whatnot, you know, we don’t really like to be all mushy and stuff. But this touched me. Chilled me too. All I could think as I watched my mom sob, and watch my dad struggle to withhold his own tears was, “Gee. It must be awful hard to say goodbye to your best friend.” And then it hit me. Yeah they’re married, but my parents are best friends. Fairy tales and romances give love a great look, but I think what God showed a couple to be in Genesis, is an even BETTER example than ANYTHING Walt Disney could ever imagine. Genesis 2:18 says that when God saw that there was no one for Adam, he made a “helper fit for him.” Adam was incomplete without Eve. Verse 24 (of Chapter 2) also says though, “Therefore a man shall leave his father and his mother and hold fast to his wife, and they shall become one flesh.”
Love isn’t something you can pick up and put down like a book. It’s not something you can buy and exchange later if you decide you don’t like it. And I see first hand how I want to spend the rest of my life with someone..all thanks to God, and my mom and dad.

To the KING!!

-Claire

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Mondays with Claire and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seventeen Couldn’t Tell Me

  1. Campus Security (DAD) says:

    Claire, I thank God so… much for you. I pray that the young man that the LORD brings your way will love you with ALL HIS HEART and let you know that you are his Queen as your mom is my Queen. Love is hard work, it is like being sandpaper, the more you rub the sandpaper together the more the ruff areas becomes smooth, but being committed to that special someone makes it all worth it. Because the two becoming one flesh is no joke. The Lord has great things for you and in following him, he will lead you to your Adam if it is His will, and then he will have his RIB which will complete him. Stay the course and continue to run the race that is set before you and you will be fine. Love Dad TO THE KING!!!!!

  2. Mom Dukes says:

    Okay, here I go again.. (tears..). You dad and I have always prayed that you would see through us two people loving each other is all about, and that you would see and experience the Ultimate love through the sacrificial death of Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I too pray that the young man whom the Lord is preparing right now to be your husband will always love you with Agape love (commitment) and cherish the love you have for your Savior, for him, and for your parents…. Love you so much!!!

Leave a Reply

