High on Christ

After such a crazy season, this weekend was symbolic of what I can expect for the next season. Friday I attended a close friends’ wedding, saturday was a baby shower, followed by a birthday celebration, and finally today was my students’ graduation ceremony. From start to finish, the overwhelming emotional high that I experienced from such joyous occasions let me know that God is ever so present in my life and that the last six months of this year will be on an emotional high. 

The one thing that was consistent throughout the weekend was the idea of growth.  In each event I was able to witness the growth of people whom I love, but more importantly, they were able to see the growth in me. In may cases, they didn’t even recognize me from the little girl I used to be. Which brings me to the essence of what I want to say today.

As Christians, it is our duty to progress in our walk with Christ, so much that people can SEE a change in us. We are called to go higher with God, as we continue to seek Him. I like to think of it this way, you know how you have that little cousin who you’ve watched grow over the years, and at every family function you are able to SEE how tall they’ve gotten and how smart they have become?? Yea… that is EXACTLY the way it should be for us. The scriptures are all over the Word to support the concept of spiritual growth, because that is a basic component of Christianity.

Ephesians 4:13 “That we henceforth be no more children, tossed to and fro, and carried about with every wind of doctrine …but speaking the truth in love, may grow up into him in all things…”

1 Corinthians 13:11 “When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.”

1 Peter 2:2 “As newborn babes, desire the sincere milk of the word, that ye may grow thereby.”

2 Peter 3:18 “But grow in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.”

The list could go on and on and on, but I think you get the gist. June marks the midterm of this year. Can you believe its already been 6 months since the new year?? Take to day to reflect on how the first half of this year has been for you, being honest about what YOU have done to grow in your walk with Christ. For the last six months of the year, I expect to be on an emotional high, and I also expect to be moving closer to God, both I know go HAND in HAND. How about you?

Be blessed this week in reflection,

_April Christina_

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to High on Christ

  1. Indigo says:

    Anything not growing, progressing, propelling forward, etc. is for all intents and purposes, D-E-A-D. Our growth as believers (in every area of our lives) gives God glory as a testiment to what God can do.
    Thanx for the reminder sis.

  2. Bianca says:

    Whew! It’s so important to get away from people who don’t allow you to grow. Those people who want to stifle your growth and keep you from changing are killing you. Not physically but spiritually. Thank you for sharing this post. It spoke to me loud and clear!

  3. missifyjd says:

    As Christians, it is our duty to progress in our walk with Christ, so much that people can SEE a change in us. ~ Amen…

Leave a Reply

