“There’s no Wifey in the Bible”

My apologies to B&F family, its been one of those weeks, so without further ado, leggoo…

So today at church, my pastor preached on the concept of commitment. In this sermon, he expanded on the idea of a man’s commitment to his wife and compared it to God’s commitment to us. He came from Psalms 91 to provide some context of God’s deserving praise, so if you are not familiar please click on the link and read it!! So one thing that stood out from the message was when my pastor said, “There’s no wifey in the Bible, she’s either your wife or she’s not.” This made me realize a few things that I want to share with you:

1. I don’t want to be the side chick.

My pastor explained that a man commits once he’s sure he’s found the best that there is to offer. If a man does not commit, then he must have some hesitations about sharing life and death with the same person. This lets me know that I want the man who will commit to me without hesitation and without reluctance just as God has committed to me. Now, I’m not saying that a man will ever compare to the way God loves me. But ultimately, I know God has created men after his own heart who are not afraid to commit to a woman, like Christ committed to the church. I would hate to be a “side chick” of God.

2. The wife gets it all.

So the difference between just dating and actually being married is that there is a vow before God to share in one another to every extent of the word share. There’s an expectation that sacrifice for the sake of your spouse is now automatic. So when it comes to a man, while the girlfriend might get some of the goods, eventually the wife gets it all. The same is true for the bride of Christ. We’ve been promised that once we accept the gift of salvation and enter into holy matrimony with Christ, then we will get everything as “the bride”.

3. Divorce is dead.

I’ve made up in my mind that I will wait as long as it takes for the man whom I will spend the rest of my life with because divorce is dead. It seems as though today, people enter into a marriage knowing that they have an option if things don’t work. I refuse to commit with options or plan B’s. I can’t imagine being in a relationship with God knowing in the back of my mind that at any time He could hand me divorce papers. I’m SO GLAD that God loves me so much that he has committed to me without ultimatums and that He has sealed the deal with the blood of Christ, like a man would with the ring.

Overall, what I took from today’s message is that although no one is perfect, I won’t settle for a man that’s not an imitator of Christ. Just as Christ loved the church, his bride, so shall my husband love God and by virtue me.

Be Blessed,

_April Christina_

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “There’s no Wifey in the Bible”

  1. Indigo says:

    Yo, ok…it’s official. I GOTZTA visit your church man!! lol. He is preaching straight from the page of my words. Remember my blog post, Wife or Wifey? HA!!! Pastor Bryant…GREAT DISCIPLESHIP can’t be denied. Hallelujah. He ain’t never lied, so very good that you’re in line with what we already know. Praise God. Your post is great sis!!!! {cute pic too}

  2. Telika says:

    this is good and true. ive been married for 10 years and wouldn’t have it any other way. Although i would compare the “wifey” to the concubines in the Bible times. so there was a kind of wifey in the Bible but that wasn’t what God wanted things to be. Which is always confusing to me how Moses and David and so many commonly dealt with having concubines and many wives without consideration of it being wrong in the site of the Lord…

  3. boldandfab says:

    @indigo…I remember your piece and defly had to add to your wisdom
    @telika..you are soooo on it… and congratulations on 10 years!! What a blessing..i cant wait to have that.. or shall I say..i CAN wait! : ) Thanks for your support.

Leave a Reply

