Praying for Casey Anthony

My forewarning:

I am not usually one to publicly entertain such dramatic and sensitive issues such as the one I will explore today, but I definitely felt a need to expand on my thinking of this week in today’s blog. It has been on my heart since Wednesday, so I will be obedient to my call, and just write.

Please, do not be offended or take this blog personal. If you would like to respectfully comment, I certainly welcome that!

God Bless.

My Facebook status on Wednesday read as follows:

“So I apparently missed today’s big news story on Casey Anthony because I actually WORK, but for those who seem to be upset, and wanna wish her to hell, right or wrong, this is for you: I am sooo glad I serve a forgiving, infinitely loving God, and not you.”

The feedback for this status, and also the lack thereof let me know that some folk had some mixed feeling about this.  I am here today to clarify, reiterate, and respectfully & confidently proclaim what I said on Wednesday.

First and foremost, let me say the reason I was prompted to post this was because by the end of the day, my timeline was FILLED with “Christians” who decided that publicly proclaiming their wishes for Anthony to go to hell was somehow ok. Not only was I offended, but also I was embarrassed. Embarrassed because I thought as followers of Christ, we were supposed to love one another not convict them to the arms of Satan. PLEASE HEAR ME when I say, I am in NO WAY, SHAPE, or FORM agreeing or disagreeing with the verdict in Anthony’s trial. I am not inclined to take a side in this situation and I am certainly not one to form my own conclusion in this case, because at the end of the day me knowing what happened doesn’t change my prayer for Casey Anthony or her family.

I don’t care how anyone may twist and bend The Word of God, the three things I know for certain is that 1. God is infinitely loving, 2. God is undoubtedly forgiving, and 3. Christ is our Salvation. I have provided scripture to back up those 3 TRUTHS, but really, there are countless verses that support this basic understanding and definitely cannot be taken out of context no matter how you look at it.

Romans 8:38-39

38For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Micah 7:18-19
Who is a God like you, who pardons sin and forgives the transgression of the remnant of his inheritance? You do not stay angry forever but delight to show mercy. You will again have compassion on us; you will tread our sins underfoot and hurl all our iniquities into the depths of the sea. 

John 3:16

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

With this said, I know that it is my duty to imitate Christ, which means loving everyone, YES, even alleged murderers. And in this love we are to pray for those who need it the most, and to me ladies and gents, I get the feeling she and her family need some serious prayer. As Christian onlookers to this case, it is NOT our job to judge, but rather to bring it to God in prayer with love in our hearts. Do you honestly believe that God enjoys punishing those He loves? I have a really hard time believing that God acknowledges twisted prayers, motivated by anger, bitterness, and spite.

I dunno.

But what I DO know is that I will be keeping Ms. Anthony and her family lifted in prayer. My prayer will be that they are able to find a relationship with God in such a messy situation, and that they are able to receive the gift of salvation through Christ. After all, why WOULDN’T we want this for them as CHRISTians?

Be Blessed,

April Christina

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Praying for Casey Anthony

  1. Rickey E. Macklin says:

    Amen Sis – Well said and I’m in total agreement with you. I’m not a lawyer, wasn’t in the jury box and I didn’t see the preponderance of evidence or lack thereof. One thing is certain however, there was a case against me one day and ALL the evidence pointed in my direction of absolute GUILT! Just sooo glad Jesus took the charges and I’m save by His grace.

    Perhaps that what has produced a forgiving and compassionate heart in me (regardless of who’s right or alleged wrong).

    Excellent blog and keep on doing whatcha do!

Leave a Reply

