MY NEW THING!!

Although I’m generally not a follower, every now and then, I jump on a bandwagon or two. Well, I have officially become a fan of a trend. Twitter has become my new thing! I joined the site a little over a year ago. However, it wasn’t until a few months ago that I actually got it and understood the inner workings of it and began to become more active in the process. I don’t Tweet nearly as much as many of my counterparts, but I do tweet daily…sometimes several times a day.

The main niche of Twitter is to be able to make a point using 140-characters or less. If anyone knows me, they know that I am WORDY!!! It’s hard for me to type out a basic e-mail in less than a paragraph. I am an expressive, detail-oriented, writer. So tweeting these short blurbs about whatever is going on in my life or whatever is on my heart at any given time was a challenge I was ready to meet head on! But here’s the kicker; how you express yourself in those 140-characters…your tweet-style (so to speak) determines how interesting you are to people and ultimately determines who will choose to follow you. Also when someone chooses to “RT” (retweet) your posts, they are essentially saying that what you have to say is so valuable that they will utilize their own page to get YOUR words out to however many people are following them!! And lastly, tacking on a “hash-tag” (#) to your post can create trending topics. For example, if I tweet, “I’m sad to hear about #AmyWinehouse. RIP.” There is a chance that by the end of the day, you may see the same topic was tweeted by millions of people. That makes it trending. Sometimes you get lucky enough to create a hash-tag topic that will trend. I haven’t been able to do that one yet, but I hope to one day. Last week, I started tweeting marital advice under the hash-tag #realWifeTweet. It wasn’t in the trend history before I used it, but after several people started tweeting with it… just not enough to become trending. lol.

I currently have 1,100+ followers and counting. The vast majority of them are Christians or at least proclaiming to be. So I take it as a huge compliment and quite frankly, a challenge to rise higher w/ the words I choose within the topics I tweet about. Don’t get me wrong… I definitely am not on there all super-duper spiritual/holier than thou. I have fun and tweet #myrandomness “nothings” (if you will) from time to time, but overall my Twitter presence is representative of the God I serve. If you’re on Twitter, feel free to follow me: www.twitter.com/indigoinspires

I will leave you with this:

Strive to make a HUGE IMPACT w/ small statements b/c LESS can often times be MORE!

– Keep it simple…Jesus did. He was real to the point in his dealings w/ folks.

Make sure you say things that are worth repeating & talk every day as though it’s a possibility that people will quote you. 

Spread the GOOD NEWS! 

Keep the FLUFF to yourself b/c it is what it is!!

Make your point & get up out of dodge! Debating is for the birds. It’s only our duty to plant the seed. God will provide the increase.

Whether you have 10, 100, or 1,000 people looking to you, be sure you’re representing Christ at all times. #BottomLine

**Wednesdays w/ iNDIGO**

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Wednesdays with iNDIGO and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to MY NEW THING!!

  1. Monisha S. Carter says:

    Well I wouldn’t even BEGAN to know how to set up a “TWEET” but it sounds like fun and I love
    encouraging so I JUST MAY surprise you…….HAAAAAAAAAAAA

    Great Word!!!

    2 THE KING

  2. boldandfab says:

    This ALMOST makes me want to set up a Twitter account! Great post. If I do decide to jump on the bandwagon, I’ll definitely be following you for your inspirational tweets and your randomness! It’s all great! Love you sis! ~ Bianca

  3. Shannan Braxton-Brown says:

    I love Twitter as well!!! you make a Great point……many are leading folk, but what are we truly leading them too…when I ask for someone to follow me, I merely take he responsibility now to lead them to christ or a destructive road? Folk better wake up, cause man came up with these witty inventions but Ultimately Christ said “I will get the Victory”…..Awesome Jocelyn!!! I love you Girl and everything you stand for

    • Indigo says:

      Thanx 4 taking the time 2 read & reply 2 my post sis. Means a lot to me. & ur points are awesome too!! I am proud of how u are growing in Christ. Although I stay pretty quiet, iNOTICE!!! Love u 2.

Leave a Reply

