No More Welfare Checks.

After a very loooong week at work (and an even more taxing week personally) I knew exactly what I would be writing about whence Saturday came. So here we are…

Despite what my life may look like (2 degrees, a great career, a loving family, amongst the many other blessings that are visible) most of what I have I can honestly say I did not work very hard to receive. I promise this isn’t a case of me just being super humble and trying to deny my contributions to my success, HOWEVER, if I am to be completely transparent I should reveal that God has pretty much handed me everything that I have. I mean, when I think about the leadership I held in high school (SGA VP, Sophomore, Junior, and Senior Class president at a predominantly white school) I often question how I was able to uphold those positions, especially given my particularly bad attitude and often smart mouth. Or when I consider the fact that I went to undergrad (which totaled about $160,000) for nearly FREE, without having to do one minute of work study I again stand in awe. When I think about my acceptance into one of the most prestigious teaching programs in the nation and thus accepted into Johns Hopkins (again for nearly nothing) I am shocked at the lovingkindness of God. He literally handed me my masters degree, because honestly I feel I did not live up to the standard of a masters candidate at the time, and yet I was still awarded my degree. What’s my point?

Well, this week I had a mental break down where I told God that life wasn’t fair. I was upset that my week had been “hard” and that everything that I wanted did not happen the way I wanted it to happen.. This is when God put me in my place by telling me “THIS SEASON WILL BE A SEASON OF HARD WORK!”

The Bible is filled with verses on hard work, including:

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward.
(Colossians 3:23-24)

All hard work brings a profit, but mere talk leads only to poverty.  (Proverbs 14:23)

and my fave…

As long as it is day, we must do the work of him who sent me. Night is coming, when no one can work. (John 9:4)

Even when I think about the ministry of Christ, I realize that while He could have had everything given to Him, He still worked hard EVERY DAY to save souls and win believers. Wow. I want to imitate Christ.

Ummmm?? Not that I expected God to always give me things, but I certainly did not expect to hear that! I think we get so caught up in what new age preaching says, that we forget the basic Biblical principle of hard work. I know this Word was authentically from God because it came up about seven different ways, in seven different places this week. So where does this leave me? What am I supposed to do with no more welfare checks from God? (I thought I’d note that I am in no way implying that government welfare makes things easy for anyone, because TRUST ME, I know that’s not the case).

Well, I have decided that instead of questioning God, I will make things “easier” by simply being obedient. I know that I will have to sacrifice this season more than I ever have before, but I am willing to do that for the sake of following directions. I also know that this season (like any) is preparation for something more that God has. I have seen and proclaimed the things that I want out of this lifetime such as changing the face of American public education, and I know that if God is going to bring those things to fruition I HAVE TO BE READY.

It’s very symbolic of this half marathon that I reluctantly signed up to race in November. I have NOT ran in years, and for some reason I thought that my muscle memory had me covered and that I would be able to just get on the track and run again. Umm.. no sir. I saw last week exactly what it’s gonna take for me to get ready for 13 miles in 3 months: good ol fashioned HARD WORK.

Now is the time where God stops handing things to me and actually makes me work for some stuff. I say I want Harvard, and He says I can have it, but I have to put in the work to study for the GRE.

I say I want my own schools someday, and He says I can, but I have to be the one to write grant proposals and rally support.

I say I want a husband… well…

I’ll still wait on HIM for that lol.

What are the things you want that God says you can have, IF YOU WORK FOR IT?

I know this was long, but I am praying that whoever this was for, that they receive it in love, because I know this Word was hard for me to swallow, but definitely something I am glad I heard.

Be Blessed,

_April CHRISTina_

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to No More Welfare Checks.

  1. missifyjd says:

    “I think we get so caught up in what new age preaching says, that we forget the basic Biblical principle of hard work”…been guilty of it myself. Even when I work hard, I need to check myself and remember that it is not by my might, but by the power of Christ that I can do what I do. Luv it sis!

  2. Ty says:

    God bless you lady!!!!! This was really good!!! Im proud of you, very happy for you.

  3. trudie says:

    i am glad i read this post…..have been thinking of hard work for my final yr this term and this has encouraged me….”the good grades i want, God says i can have them….but i have to put in the work” to be honest, in the past i’ve been too lazy to study nd even for my previous exam, it’s only by God’s grace bt this time i’m going hard with proverbs nd colossians nd all da bible verses on hard work….so help me GOD as u’ve always done….no more laziness….like the ant in da picture….i’ll carry da load of “cookies” lol….thanks 4 da post

Leave a Reply

