Talitha Cumi, Little Girl Get Up

My stepdad is the epitome of a man to me. He is a provider, he’s a protector, and he’s loving. Retired military man, most people are a bit intimidated at first meeting, simply because he’s big and scary looking, but to know him is to love him. I recall one time he and I were flying to see my family in Alabama (I was in school outside of Baltimore and he was working based in DC..yes I’m a military brat). We flew out of BWI with clear skies around us, but as we got closer to Montgomery’s airport we flew into one of the worst storms I’ve witnessed. (We didnt realize the magnitude of the storm until we were on the ground). As we circled the airport ten times, the plane shook violently and tossed its cargo to and fro. I just remember looking back periodically at my step dad, trying to read his face for fear, because I knew if he was scared then I needed to be. Each time I looked at him, he looked as calm as when we flew out of Baltimore, calming my spirit right along. Im not sure if he was just that cool (which he is) or if he knew I was looking to him for comfort and so for the sake of me, he remained constant. What I do know is if it werent for his presence I probably would have passed out lol.

I think we sometimes forget that we can find the same consistency in our Father God. God carries many titles (Elohim, El Shaddai, Jehova Jireh, Jehova Nissi, The Great I Am), but the one I tend to cling to the most is Father. There’s something about knowing I have a Father who I can look to when I’m feeling afraid or nervous about this flight I’m on called life. To know God is to love Him, and to experience God is to fall deeply in love with Him. There’s life in love and our Father exemplifies this by giving us life through Christ because of how much He loves us. Because I am God-fearing, I can sometimes be so hard on myself that I focus on God’s wrath and forget about His abounding love for me. I honestly can’t count the times I’ve fallen and He has taken me by the hand and whisepered to me, “little girl, get up” (Mark 5:41).

It’s no doubt to me that good earthly fathers have the qualities of our heavenly Father…protectors, providers, enforcers, but most importanly LOVERS.

Thank you Dad for adopting my siblings and I and making us your own. We love you.
Thank you Father for adopting my siblings and I and making us your own. Amen.

Ephesians 1:3-6 (NIV) Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ. 4For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love 5he predestined us to be adopted as his sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will– 6to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves.


About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Talitha Cumi, Little Girl Get Up

  1. Amber Curley says:

    This brought a tear to my eye. Amen. 11+ years…love you dad!!!!!

  2. Kelsey Curley says:

    He’s the best dad anyone could ask for. I love my dad 🙂

  3. Jennifer says:

    Beautiful:)

  4. Mom says:

    Wow. This one really brought me to tears. You are a gifted writer and a loving daughter. I am speechless (a miracle for me!)

  5. Pops says:

    Wow, sweetie this was very touching and moving. Just between me and you, that flight had me going as well but I was praying from take off to landing and I always put God in the co-pilot seat:)

    You are a wonderful writer and beautiful lady we are so proud of. Love Ya as always.

  6. Indigo says:

    iLove the connection btwn your earthly & heavenly Fathers A.C.C. Thank you for this beautiful contribution to our blog sis. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

