I’m No Better Than the Rest

How many times have you heard that saying, “Don’t judge a book by its’ cover,”? Enough, right?

I took to thinking about that. You see, I never really noticed what it meant to prejudge someone before you even knew their story. It started in my Spanish class. And sitting next to my old roommate from last year, we were talking about some pet peeves in the class and throwing back and forth things we didn’t like, things that were funny, how people pronouced their basic vowel sounds, etc. etc. And eventually it got to where we started talking about other students in the class. One girl annoyed her for some reason and one guy kinda annoyed me too.

So as we were sitting there, talking our talk, I asked her if the guy who sorta annoyed me hadn’t worn the same thing to class last Monday. Now mind you, this class only meets Mondays and Wednesdays, so I couldn’t really remember. We joked about it and snickered, then moved on to something else.

The comment I made really began to bother me as I was doing my homework in the student library on the following Friday and the SAME guy came and sat at the computer next to me. Needless to say, he was definitely wearing the same outfit.

It pained me to realize how I had judged someone I didn’t even know, with no knowledge of any background history, without even so much as a care. I had made fun of him and laughed at him. I had mercilessly ridiculed him under NO fair grounds!

The moment I recognized the same faded shirt and pants, I hung my head in shame because at that moment, all I could do was beg God for forgiveness for how cruelly I had treated a man I didn’t even know the name of. I felt so awful about the whole ordeal that I couldn’t even stay any longer. I wrapped up my assignments and packed my things. But if the fact that God should me how wrong I was to think that I was better than him at all, as I walked past him on my way out, he looked up at me and smiled the most peaceful smile, as if the whole conversation I was having with a bull-horn inside my head weren’t even happening. His kind-hearted smile to me was just more shame heaped on my head. And the thought of having to see him again in class, ….I was dreading it.

Every time I’d think about it, I’d get a pit in my stomach. I was wrong. And I know that what I thought was just as awful as if I had come right out and said it! What I failed to realize is that EVERYONE is different. EVERYONE has a story behind them. And without knowing anything about them, I can have nothing to say. But having been forgiven, my spirit is at peace and I know look forward to today’s class when I can share in a smile with another student.

These are a few verses that I will use, along with my well-learned lesson, to help me to keep my mind and thoughts about others in their place.

“Do not judge by appearances, but judge with right judgment.” John 7:24

“Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.” Matthew 7:1-5

“There is only one lawgiver and judge, he who is able to save and to destroy. But who are you to judge your neighbor?” James 4:12

“Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.” Ephesians 4:29

To the KING!!

-Claire

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Mondays with Claire. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m No Better Than the Rest

  1. Cedric says:

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and recognizing and repenting of your behavior. I couldn’t sleep and turned the TV to Dateline on NBC. The focus of the show was on bullying. A key point that was made was that much of bullying involves someone picking on someone else because of income. The program ended at 4 a.m. I checked my email and the first message I saw was regarding your posting. I take it as no coincidence, so I am addressing your message with some scripture.

    The Book of James contains several verses regarding controlling what we say, but I will refer to just some of these:

    26 If anyone thinks he is religious, without controlling his tongue but deceiving his heart, his religion is useless.
    27 Pure and undefiled religion before our God and Father is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself unstained by the world.
    James 1:26-27 (HCSB)

    1 My brothers, hold your faith in our glorious Lord Jesus Christ without showing favoritism.
    2 For suppose a man comes into your meeting wearing a gold ring, dressed in fine clothes, and a poor man dressed in dirty clothes also comes in.
    3 If you look with favor on the man wearing the fine clothes so that you say, “Sit here in a good place,” and yet you say to the poor man, “Stand over there,” or, “Sit here on the floor by my footstool,”
    4 haven’t you discriminated among yourselves and become judges with evil thoughts?
    James 2:1-4 (HCSB)

    Thank you again for sharing your thoughts in this blog. We all need to be reminded of what is important to God.

  2. Mom Dukes says:

    Thank you for your sincere truthfulness about what goes on sometimes in your heart. Non-believers and believers alike struggle with pre-judging people because of how they look or what they wear. We all should, as the Bible says, “first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.” Humbling solution to an age-old problem…. Keep fighting the good fight, sweetie…and always be thankful for God’s forgiveness…

  3. Dad (Campus Security) says:

    Faithy, thank-you for your post and a reminder to me to think highly of others and respect others as well according to God,s word. I Love U

  4. Witeshugar says:

    Yes, thank you for your openness in sharing. I would like to put some emphasis on taking a stand and sharing this viewpoint with others. When we are with people who are judging, try to take the objective role and perhaps try and support the opposing view of judgment being made on someone. When a friend is condescending towards a stranger, maybe point out that hey, you know, we all have our stories.

Leave a Reply

