Consider the birds…

I’ll make this short and to the point.

God has given me EV ER YTHING that I have. He is a PROVIDER, in every sense of the word, which means I can rely on HIS promise that whatever I need in this human life, HE’s GOT IT. Matthew 6:26 says “Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?”

With this said, I think we sometimes forget that God gives to us with the expectation that we will give back to HIM, through others. Salvation was the free gift from our Father, tithing is the signing bonus. Church has made this concept so much more difficult than what it has to be. In essence, God gives to us, we give back to Him, and He blesses us and trusts us with more (so we can give away more). As easy as this sounds, how many of us actually give 10% of what we make, CONSISTENTLY? Tithing is the tangible demonstration of our faith, because we give knowing that God will supply all of our needs. If we don’t give, with the fear that we won’t have “enough” for ourselves, we 1. show our lack of respect and trust in God and 2. reflect our selfish ways which are both FAR from what Christ taught.

As we move forward in our walk with Christ, we are required to take on bigger challenges. One of those is tithing. So let’s get started.

What are some ways we can do this?

1. Give to the needy/poor/homeless (Don’t use YOUR judgement in this, but rather the Holy Spirit as your guide)

2. Give to your place of worship/wherever you receive spiritual nourishment

3. Invest in a charity that reflects the principles of Christ (Always do your research)

I mostly wrote this as a means of talking myself through this new chapter in my walk, but I hope it applies to someone else : ) I will be sure to explore this in writing as I do in my walk.

Be Blessed,

_April Christina_

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

