eat. pray. love.

It’s been two weeks since I last wrote for the blog.  And a lot has definitely transpired.  It seemed that just as one thing was winding down, another task reared its ugly head.  Planning two major international panels for one of DC’s busiest weeks was no small feat.  From writing letters to embassies just to get my panelists in the States…to creating the programs…to speaking with the A/V guy about equipment, I definitely was sleep deprived.  And then I was self-deprived, having no moment to ask “Ify, are you ok?” or “Ify, do you need anything?  laundry done? groceries? a hug?”  I probably needed all three, but it seemed there just wasn’t enough time.  EVER.

So I am still waiting for my “downtime.”  I went from serving a Congressman for the last year to serving on a congressional committee, as of yesterday.  Transition time–non-existent.  I cleaned up a desk and unpacked at a new one all within a day.  Again, I cringed at not being able to just “wooo-sss-aaa-hhhh.”  Sure, I was excited at the apparent promotion…wait.  Actually, maybe I forgot to be excited.  I think I just “moved,” without even thinking about how big or small it was in my life.

Coming across this quote definitely helped:

“There is a reason they call God a presence – because God is right here, right now. In the present is the only place to find Him, and now is the only time.

A line from Elizabeth Gilbert’s best-seller “Eat, Pray, Love,” reminded me that in EVERY moment, God is still present.  The healer.  The deliverer.  The way-maker.  The redeemer.  The counselor.  HE is (and always was) accessible.  And He is available NOW.

The Bible could have been known as a “good word” or a “real word.”  But it often referred to as the “Living Word,” because no matter the year or time of day, it still speaks to our right now.  As humans, our bodies do get tired at times.  Our minds do become occupied with multiple tasks.  And to go the extra mile, we need that supernatural, unexplainable presence of the Holy Spirit.  Taking a moment with God will never result in lost time (and you never need permission from your boss for a time-out).

Got a moment?  Take one now to just meditate of Him.

1) EAT

Matthew 4:4: Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.’

2) PRAY

James 5:16: …the prayers of a righteous person is powerful and effective.

3) LOVE

Romans 13:8  Owe no one anything, except to love each other, for the one who loves another has fulfilled the law.

There is always much to say about purpose, vision and destiny, especially as it relates to the mysterious world of “the future.”  Nothing wrong with that, except for it can make the average person frantic about the “preparation” leading up to those outcomes, and cause one to neglect the right now.  There needs to exist a balance.

It starts by thanking God for right now.  (Thank You, Father).

…and stay with Him throughout your day…

 

Ify

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Thursdays with Ify and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to eat. pray. love.

  1. T. H. says:

    Ironic. I saw the movie for the first time this weekend and loved it. I can relate to your blog. If I had the money to do what Julia Roberts character did in the movie, I would be gone long away from here, to get a better understanding of me. Its hard to figure out things while in the midst of the storm.

  2. Bianca says:

    I can sooo relate to this one Ify. Thanks for sharing this… I needed it today! ~ Bianca

Leave a Reply

