I’ll Take The Lord’s Leftovers Any Day!

Happy Thanksgiving Bold and Fab readers!

There are so many things I love about the holidays; the music, the food, the camaraderie, the general sense of peace. I often consider those who may be homeless or not as fortunate as I, keeping them lifted in prayer and thanking God even more for the things I have. I cooked the entire Thanksgiving dinner this year for the first time in my life for my brother, one of my students and myself. I realized after cooking, how many leftovers we would have. I must admit, leftovers have always been my favorite part about Thanksgiving! There’s something about knowing I can wake up and have all of the deliciousness I had on Thanksgiving over again and again, only this time my sentiments were a little different.

I wondered how many people in only a 5 mile radius of where I live did NOT have the luxury of feasting on Thanksgiving, and would LOVE the chance to have leftovers from my table? It’s sometimes hard to appreciate things when you have everything, but when you have lived through struggle after struggle and know what poverty really means, you tend to take every blessing for what it’s worth. Those who have not, appreciate gifts of any kind, including leftovers or “crumbs”. This reminds me of the Canaanite woman in Matthew Chapter 15 where she values the crumbs from her Master’s table:

Matthew, Chapter 15 (NIV):
The Faith of a Canaanite Woman

 21 Leaving that place, Jesus withdrew to the region of Tyre and Sidon. 22 A Canaanite woman from that vicinity came to him, crying out, “Lord, Son of David, have mercy on me! My daughter is demon-possessed and suffering terribly.”

 23 Jesus did not answer a word. So his disciples came to him and urged him, “Send her away, for she keeps crying out after us.”

 24 He answered, “I was sent only to the lost sheep of Israel.”

 25 The woman came and knelt before him. “Lord, help me!” she said.

 26 He replied, “It is not right to take the children’s bread and toss it to the dogs.”

 27 “Yes it is, Lord,” she said. “Even the dogs eat the crumbs that fall from their master’s table.”

28 Then Jesus said to her, “Woman, you have great faith! Your request is granted.” And her daughter was healed at that moment.

Image

Every time I read this story, it confirms for me the value of Salvation through Christ my Savior. Imagine, with all the power He has, what simple crumbs would taste like from His table. And because I am saved I am promised not just crumbs, but an entire kingdom! I don’t know about you, but I will take the Lord’s leftovers any day!

Let us rejoice in the crumbs of the Lord, because even then they are fulfilling.

Be Blessed,

April ChristinaImage

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

