AH HA!!!

I had an enlightening conversation with a stranger at the gym this morning. As I was on the elliptical machine, she comes over to me and asks if I was in the band she saw performing at The Office Bar the night before. I told her yes. She said, “I thought that was you! You guys are really good. My friends and I were completely entertained!” I said, “Thank you” and kept going with my workout. I thought that was the extent of the conversation until about thirty-minutes later when I got off of the machine and went into another room to work on my abs.
 
Once inside this room, she comes in and proceeds making small talk with me. However, the conversation took a deeper turn. She started asking me how about knowing which gift(s) to really nurture when you have multiple ones. She seemed to have a deep, personal concern for knowing what to do with her life. She is a new mother and said she feels lost as an individual. “I have this baby and never took the time to get to know who I was and what I really want to do. I feel that I need to care about it because I want to be an example to my son to show him that gifts are meant to be used not sat on.”  She said sings also, but a negative body image kept her from moving forward with it. She allowed her weight to make her feel like she could never compete no matter how beautiful her voice may have been.
 
I told her that there are so many reasons why she should move forward with pursuing her talents. Number one, it’s always good to have a consistent hobby. Idle time is the devil’s playground. Where there is trouble, self-doubt, and drama, often times, there is someone who has nothing better to do. Sure, being a mother is a full-time job, but doing something additional that you consider fun while using your gift is a win-win. Number two, you may in fact be able to make a living doing what you love if you are just proactive with your talent. I’m not talking about being rich and famous like stars on TV (although that can be possible as well), I’m talking about putting your gifts to the test and making them work for you. Not just singers, but all facets of talent. Think of the person who liked to sew and now has their own fashion line; or the person who liked to tinker around with electronics who now owns their own store; or the person who loves the Lord, people, & ministry who now has their own church; and etc. Just think if new Grammy-award winner Adele had allowed heartache to turn her into a recluse instead of writing her hit song, Rolling In the Deep; she’d just be another person with an unused gift that no one would be blessed by. Number 3, and lastly…I told her the number one reason to press ahead is because the Word says, “Do not neglect the gift that is in you. (1 Timothy 4:14)” I had no idea of her faith before that moment, but it didn’t matter to me because God’s word is truth, no matter who the person is hearing it. She looked at me as if she wanted to cry but was holding back and said, “I receive that. Thank you for letting me disturb your workout.”
 
No matter who you are, ask God to lead you in the discovery or the recovery of your gifts. As we live our best lives on purpose, we are motivated to be better in every area of our lives. God doesn’t expect the same from us all, He just expects us to try and use what He’s given us to His glory. Get busy living today while using what’s on the inside of us to master this thing called life.
**WEDNESDAYS W/ iNDIGO**
About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Wednesdays with iNDIGO and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

