You Can’t Be What You Can’t See

My mom asked me not to miss anymore posts. I promised her I wouldn’t. 🙂 Leggoooo….

Yesterday I turned 25 and in that I must first give God the glory He deserves. Thank you Father for 25 years of breath and I pray you continue to use me for as long as you want and for as many years as you see fit.

In all of my birthday festivities, I was able to go see Steve Harvey’s movie: Act Like a Lady, Think Like A Man with my best friend. I must say the movie was quite entertaining, mostly because of the comedic overcast that made the film as engaging as it was. Without Kevin Hart I’m not so sure I would have enjoyed it as much. Nonetheless, if anyone has or has not read the book, the basic premise provides “insight” from a man’s mind on love and relationships. While I think there were many things I took from the film, I was also reassured that no matter what Steve may say, there is NO BETTER DATING ADVICE than that of God’s Word. Turning 25 has caused me to think very seriously about where I am right now and where I want to be in the next 25 years.

Honestly, I would be lying if I didn’t say that a relationship is what I want next; a husband. I have been feeling pressure to make this happen at 25, especially as I see others around me moving into the happily ever after and living out what I eventually want. I think about the fact however that even if God sent me my Adam tomorrow morning, I’m convinced that I wouldn’t be ready for him, which is why I trust God’s timing. There are so many things I have yet to learn about effective, prosperous relationships, especially given the fact that I have never really seen what that looks like. Which brings me to the heart of this blog.

Today I want to promote an idea that I think has been lost in contemporary times especially with those my age and older. I know that this season I am in is one of mentorship and as I look around, I realize I am being trained and molded into the leader I was called to be underneath the leadership of others. It hit me this weekend that this concept definitely applies to the area of relationships and marriage. How can I be a wife if I have no clue what that really means or looks like?

I love their love

Having a mentor in this regard only makes sense. When I focus my lens on the people in my life, there are several strong women who are in strong marriages, whom I can learn from. After reading Proverbs 31 and digesting what the Word says on what it means to be a wife, I know that my next step is to observe virtuous women in action. I guess my point in all of this is that you can’t be what you can’t see.

If there is a career you want to have, find a mentor in that field and study them. If there is a goal in life you have, find a mentor who has successfully achieved that goal and observe their steps. If you want to be a fine wife, find a woman who is that and learn from her. After all, Jesus mentored the disciples.

Special shout out to my B&F sister Jocelyn and my big cousin Erika for showing me what the virtuous woman looks like. Please know I will be hitting you up to actively pursue this mentorship thing lol.

Feels good to be back. Be blessed.

-April Christina

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Can’t Be What You Can’t See

  1. Jocelyn "iNDIGO" Saunders says:

    Ok, how cool is it to be NAMED in someone’s post? WAY COOL!!! 😉
    God is truly STILL growing me in the Proverbs 31 area and after 15+ years of marriage, I can say that I’m not sure you ever PERFECT the journey, but IF you’re really wanting the best God has for you both in the union, you will do whatever it takes to be obedient to God’s word while married and be SMART (like you) in saying, I have to begin this process NOW…before the vows. I’m here for you and am sure God has an AMAZING man of God waiting in the wings for you. When it’s time, you’ll know and I’ll be there to support you every step of the way. Welcome back btw. Love u.

Leave a Reply

