CHRISTIAN BUSY BEE!!

Last week, while waiting at the doctors office to be seen for my appointment, a woman who was also waiting to be seen looked at me and said, “I’m sorry I don’t remember your name sweetheart, but aren’t you a singer?” I said, “Yes.” She said, “I knew that was you. I never forget a face. You sang at a New Years Eve program at my church a couple years ago.” She went on to tell me that me & my singers were phenomenal. She started talking about all the local and famous Gospel singers she knows personally and that she even sang background years ago for Andre Crouch. Then she went further and began to go down a long list of ministries she’s currently involved in and good deeds she’s done and in the process of doing.


The more she talked, the more I felt sad for her. Her existence consisted of busyness for God, but nothing she said indicated a fellowship or relationship w/ Him. So I asked her a question that appeared to make her very agitated… I asked her was she saved & does she know Christ as her personal Lord & Savior. She sat back in her chair with a bewildered look and then said, “Have you been listening to anything I’ve said?” I told her I had been listening and that’s why I asked. But if I have a chance to introduce ANYONE to Christ, I will do it when it’s on my heart. She said, “Ok, but if you were listening, you’d know that everything I’m doing everyday is for God.” She looked annoyed and continued saying,”Besides, I grew up in the church. I come from a great line of Pastors, Prophets, & Evangelists. Of course I’m saved.” I told her I apologize for offending her; after that the conversation stopped and shortly thereafter, she was called in the back for her appointment.



Listen folks, activity & productivity are not necessarily the same things. Many people are keeping busy…doing things they consider the important things…focused on the activity, the ministry, the title/position, but not on JESUS!!! Some of are mistaken, thinking that our good works are enough. Many people get a proverbial high from the constant activities…a rush, if you will. All the while, you’re not spending any time getting to know God better…or AT ALL!!!! Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t know that lady, nor did I judge her. After listening to her go on and on talking about herself, I felt compelled by Holy Spirit to ask her what I did. She said she was saved. Praise God for that!! Ephesians 2:8-10 says, For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast. For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

I will complete this blog by saying, invest everything you have in Christ. If we’re completely focused on Him and all He has done for us, it will be hard not to give Him the glory He is due. We give Him glory in what we speak and what we do. Share Him w/ someone. Never pass up an opportunity to do so when it’s on your heart. We can never assume anyone’s spiritual well-being due to their activity level within the church. Let’s strive daily for relationship with God above all things and let’s encourage others in the same.

**Wednesdays w/ iNDIGO**

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Wednesdays with iNDIGO and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

