Disappointment Sucks!!!

According to dictionary.com, Disappointment means, failing to fulfill the expectations or wishes of. To defeat the fulfillment of hopes, plans, and expectations. To thwart. To frustrate. 
A few days ago, I became very disheartened when I was disappointed by someone. I mean, it really had me down for a while. So as I started to pray about it, God reminded me of a few instances of disappointment in the lives of others I know, as a way to minister me through mine.
 
He reminded me of my friend who had been dealing with infertility. Many years her and her husband were trying to conceive and no luck. Finally when they were able, three times, it ended in miscarriages. Although they adopted, to this day, they still have no biological children. I just thought of how Sarah of the Bible felt, or Rebekah, or Elizabeth, or Hannah…time and time again, they were “disappointed” by that same kind of news again and again.
-and-
My cousin who was passed over for that promotion which she worked and prayed so hard for…only for someone less qualified to get it. I just thought of how the prophet Elijah had an expectation of revival at Mount Carmel. But instead, a price was put on his head. 
-and-
My associate, a beautiful woman of God…a minister, was being faced with a divorce she never wanted and now, the plans she had for her family have been altered forever. I just thought about how Joseph and Job had good reasons to be disappointed…especially being a men of God and things not going in their favor (for a season).
No where in the bible does it say that disappointment is a SIN. But we have to recognize that it is a very powerful “gateway emotion”. Meaning, once you open that door, it is an open invitation for the enemy to infiltrate our spirit. First it’s, “I’m disappointed.” Then it’s, “I’m angry. Next it’s, “I’m depressed”. Before long it’s, “I’m defeated.” When we set our hearts on the consistency and actions of people, we are bound to be disappointed. There will come a time where your child will make a decision outside of what you have taught them is right. There will come a time where a close friend will turn away from you or not be there for you like you believe they should be. There will come a time where your spouse may not meet all your needs or even seem like they care to. There will come a time where you will be betrayed by someone you respect. 
 
So, when you’re ever faced with disappointment like I was the other day, shake-it off. There is a part of each of us that only God can fulfill. That’s why He wants our hearts to be set on HIM alone. When that is done, there is never any room for disappointment. That doesn’t mean that in Christ, things will go our way or always meet our personal expectation. It simply means that if we claim we trust God…we trust Him in spite of things not going our way because we understand that no one knows better than Him. 
 
I will end this blog with a fitting scripture. I pray it blesses your heart as much as it has mine today:
Habakkuk 3:17-18 — Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord. I will be joyful in God my Savior.
*Wednesdays w/ iNDIGO*
About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Wednesdays with iNDIGO and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

