Time To Update That Resume

Sooo..I shared with you last week how I am in the gray space of a season, or in other words, the transition phase from one place in my life to the next. One of the ways that this is manifesting is in my career, where I am now in a place of exploring what my next move will be. Naturally this means I’ve been updating my resume; tweaking language, adding in my most recent roles and accomplishments, as well as taking off irrelevant information. On Sunday, my pastor asked a question that really got my mind racing, which was “if God had only one position to fill in heaven, what would you do to get the job?” It forced me to think about my spiritual resume, and what I might be able to cite to build my case for God. I mean really, if you were to create a spiritual resume, what would be on it? What roles or hats have you worn that would impress God? What accomplishments for the kingdom have you made? Who could you list as recommenders of your good work in this lifetime? If I want to be God’s lead worshipper, what evidence is there on my resume that shows I have experience in this already? Etc.Image

Now please hear me, this is NOT to imply that the good deeds we do while here on Earth will legitimize our acceptance into heaven, because if I believe God’s word, it says that Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life, and that NO ONE comes to the Father except through Him (John 14:6). I do, however, believe that we will have to account for our time here on Earth, and shall therefore be ready to share our spiritual resume with God our Father on that judgment day. When I think about what might impress God, I again take to His word; particularly I LOVE Romans 12:1-2 which encourages, Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. I also really appreciate 1 Corinthians 10:31, which offers, “So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.

Just to be clear, I am in no way suggesting that you should be keeping a running list of every good thing you do, good word you speak, or good thought you think, but I AM challenging you to be more PROACTIVE in living a kind, spirit-filled life that reflects the core values of Christianity at its finest.

So the questions I leave you with are simple:

  • How are you using each day to build the kingdom and represent Christ in all that you do?
  • How many people have you impacted? Who can attest to the kindness of your heart?
  • What is your relationship like with your Manager (ie: Christ)? Would He recommend you to the Father in your next transition?
  • How well versed are you in God’s Word? When you get called into that interview, will you be able to talk fluently about Christ’s core values and mission?

Every night, you should be able to talk with God, and tell Him verbatim what it is you’ve done in thought, word, or deed, that you will be able to add to your spiritual resume; things that HE will be proud of or potentially even impressed by.

In Transition and Growing With You,

April Christina

Image

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in April Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

