Werk.Werk.Werk.

This past weekend I had the incredible opportunity to help my best friend with her cheerleaders before their big competition Saturday afternoon. In only one day of helping her 18-girl, D.C. middle school squad, I am literally STILL recovering from exhaustion, as her girls had LOTS of energy and required LOTS of attention lol. I don’t know if anyone else knows, but middle-schoolers are TOUGH, let alone middle school GIRLS…<JesusWasARealFence>

In the 24 hours that I was with my bff and her girls, I couldn’t help but to stand in awe of how amazing she was as a coach. I mean we both cheered throughout our high school and undergraduate career, so her technical skill set is obviously on point, but I mean just the way she pulled favors in order to coordinate gym time for her girls the night before their competition so her ladies could practice on a competition mat (because in a DC school that is certainly not available to them), or the way she adjusted her schedule to drive girls home after the close of a late 8pm practice, or the way she spent her own money to buy hair products for their competition, or the way she brought donuts in the next morning for her girls to eat, and the way she danced with them when they won first place, I mean just an INCREDIBLE COACH. cheerWe’ve been best friends for 15 years and I’ve always known my bff to be a hard worker, but this past weekend I was really, truly inspired on a whole other level. In the 24 hours that I helped, I saw her and her team face several setbacks that even I became frustrated with, and yet even in those circumstances she and her team found a way to win a first place title in their competition. Simply amazing. The Bible talks about working in a such a way that pleases God; I love the New Living Translation of Ephesians 6:7 which says, “Work with enthusiasm, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.”, and my bff is a real-life embodiment of this verse. I should also mention that this girl was just named Teacher of the Year-again earned through hard work and sacrificing for her students. 

As I make my transition into a new season, I can’t help but wonder if I’ve worked, on a day-to-day basis, in a way that really pleases God. If I’m to be honest with myself the answer is likely a NO. I can’t really say that I’ve worked in such a way that inspires others, or in a way that truly requires the kinds of sacrifices I know my best friend has made to be where she is. When I think about Jesus and the way He lived His life, I absolutely see the perfect example of how to work tirelessly for God, no matter WHAT you are doing, and quite frankly, I have NOT been operating in that spirit. Have you?

In a nutshell, these are the lessons I’ve learned from watching my best friend work as if she worked directly for God Himself:

  • Be a tough act to follow. My best friend is literally the most valuable player at her school, and I’m SURE her principal, colleagues, and students would potentially fall apart (and not to mention miss her) if she left. No one can do what she does, the way she does it, likewise, no one should be able to do what you do the way you do it.
  • Stop complaining about the things we DON’T LIKE where we work, where we go to church, where we live and instead be an “intrapreneur”…that person who innovates from within and works to change their circle of people, places, and things for the better. Instead of complaining about all of the things wrong with DC schools, my bff has taken the responsibility and the initiative herself to work and make things better for her students, their families, and her community.
  • Good things come to those who work. Teacher of the year and first place in her competition didn’t just happen for my bff. She worked her tail off for them and it paid off. God doesn’t expect us to work hard with no reward. In fact His word tells us in Colossians 3:23-24, “Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ.” Literally or figuratively, just know your work will not go unrewarded.

I realize today’s post sounds very similar to last weeks (and I’ve blogged on this concept before), but I’m hopeful you can see how they work in tandem, and besides I NEEDED to hear this again lol.

Happy Monday,
ACC

blog2

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in April Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

