Healing Hurts (Chicken Soup & Kleenex Reflections)

SickDay-DoodleandHoobI’m sick.  Not just a little sick, but sick sick.  And while at times some use a sniffle here or there as an excuse to get out of obligations, I unfortunately have at times a pretty jacked-up immune system that doesn’t allow me to recover as quickly as I’d like.  Furthermore, I cannot really afford to take off too much time to recuperate, so I keep working…which means I stay sick longer.  So while the world is embracing spring, I have been gripping my blanket (and my ipad, because I still got to do a little work).

Yea, this cold has lasted a little longer than I’d like, and I yesterday I had a brief fit, wishing I was “healed already.”  Every cough, I felt my chest was going to cave in; every sneeze caused my vertebrae to crack.  Yesterday morning, I lost my voice.  And up until this morning, I had an on-again off-again fever.

Reflecting back on the week, however, I recognize that I was actually getting better each day, even though my body still felt like it was being beaten up.  Each day, I still had symptoms of being sick, but I had a little less problems than the day before…even if I couldn’t see it at first.  If it weren’t for the act of coughing, I would still have germs in my chest.  If I couldn’t sneeze, I could be suffering from a sinus infection. So depending on how you look at it, I was either really sick…or I was (slowly) getting better.

All of this is just my way of saying healing is not a fuzzy, simple, snap of the fingers process.  Healing, at times, hurts.  And whether it is our bodies, or our spiritual beings, our perspective on recovery is often clouded by the pain we are currently feeling, or the length in time of recovery.  But everything is about perspective.  Our physical organs become even stronger after fighting off an infection, as it builds its resistance to another attack.  That said, we must use the healthy moments to better fortify our bodies before it is attacked by disease or infection–through good eating, preventative care, and what I struggle with: rest.  Same is true with out spiritual selves.  Our ability to weather the emotional and spiritual storms of our lives has a lot to do with how prepared we are before the calamity.  Reading the Bible…praying with purpose (not that “now I lay me down to sleep” mess…c’mon son you grown)…telling yourself that you are STRONG even when you feel weak. Developing such a habit helps an already painful process become more manageable.

Lastly, healing always brings us back to the basics.  At the end of the day, we only have one body, and one lifetime here on earth.  I had to drastically scale back this week so my body and mind could focus on getting whole.  And sometimes, God will cause a storm so that you can run back to Him…rely on Him…depend on Him.  He will use what was meant to hurt us, to heal us.

So Imma go back under the covers now.  This is the longest cold I’ve had in a while, and it hurts. But Imma be better on the other side.sick1

hugs and sniffles

#IfyThursdays

Psalm 103:2: Bless the LORD, O my soul, And forget none of His benefits; Who pardons all your iniquities; Who heals all your diseases; Who redeems your life from the pit; Who crowns you with lovingkindness and compassion; Who satisfies your years with good things, So that your youth is renewed like the eagle.

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Thursdays with Ify and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

