The Moving Target

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails. 1 Corinthians 13:4-5

Motherhood – ahhhhh the joys. That scripture which is often read at weddings is most often put into action with a mother’s love. I don’t think I even knew the true meaning of unconditional, self-sacrificing love until I became a mother.

Me&PoodahFav

Each season that I’ve been a mother comes with its own triumphs and obstacles. I’m probably considered an overachiever and as such can be more critical of myself than others. Being a mother, there are many days that I feel like I’m getting a failing grade. Just when I think I’m getting a handle on what’s going on in my daughter’s life, something new comes into play; there’s a wonderful (NOT) twist thrown in for somebody’s, definitely not mine, amusement.

parental_guidance

Nobody told me about this parental guidance thing. It’s not just a movie rating. Parental guidance requires me on my worst, exhausting day, to reach WAYYYYYY down for the energy that I don’t have to give my daughter the life lessons that she needs.

Hence, the title – being a “good” mother is a perpetually moving target for me. As a single mother, it’s not too difficult to drop one of the balls I’m juggling. Then my chest starts to hurt, and I want to curl up in my bed and stay there until whatever is frustrating me goes away. BUT good moms don’t quit. Mind you, I’ve said, “I quit!” several times in the last nine years, in the midst of doing my job. My call of duty as a mother is serious business. There’s a little fragile life involved. My actions and words can make or break the course of my daughter’s life. God has entrusted me with her life, so I have a duty of care that I must fulfill.

There’s so much to consider…

But let me simplify it for the equally prone to get frustrated. There’s a lot of stuff out there to wade through – Dr. Spock, Dr. Laura, Dr. Phil, Oprah and ‘em. Sure some of it is helpful, but at the end of the day…And don’t even get me started on public opinion, the ever mysterious ‘They.’

What’s a mother to do?

“Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.” (Proverbs 3:6) “Direct your children onto the right path, and when they are older, they will not leave it.” Proverbs 22:6

So as it says in 1 Peter 4:12, “Dear friends, don’t be surprised at the fiery trials you are going through, as if something strange were happening to you.” Yes you will have trouble, but if you seek and stick to the path God leads you on and take your children along with you, they will not leave it.

And that’s hope enough for me.

Happy Mother’s Day all! I pray that you walk in God’s energy and express His love…but above all else, get to experience the JOY.

3-9-2014-Celine

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Celine Saturdays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

