It’s Not Easy Being Green

KermitBrothers and sisters, don’t think like children. When it comes to evil, be like babies, but think like mature people.” – 1 Corinthians 14:20

Throughout my life I have memories of times when I was called “green,” or felt like the oddball. I just didn’t fit in.  Even at the thought of those times I turn a little bit red with embarrassment. There was the time I asked a guy what the word on his shirt, a brand name, meant and he looked at my boyfriend at the time and said, ‘you better hold on to her, she’s green.’ I remember being on a road trip with friends and there was an imaginary gun battle between all our cars, ‘she doesn’t know how to shoot a gun,’ they teased. Even recently, my closest childhood friend mused about how naïve I was about life and what was going on when we were kids. She called me the black Alicia Silverstone – basically, “Clueless.”

I’m actually glad that the things I was naïve about as a child I can look back on and understand through mature adult eyes. I don’t think I could have handled knowing the same things from the perspective of a little kid.

How does one determine in life what you need to be “up on?” I’ve never been one to follow the latest trend, fashion, or hot topic too closely. I tend to lean towards safety, levelheadedness and practicality. Yeah – I’ve been called “grandma” and “boring” too. Therefore, my life is devoid of certain stories that might seem adventurous and exciting. In certain circles, I just have nothing to add because I don’t share certain experiences. Don’t get me wrong; I’m no saint. I won’t go into detail here, because I do have some stories that I’d rather not have to tell; some experiences I’d have skipped, if possible.

Recently I was listening to a message and the pastor said “It’s okay to be naïve when it comes to wickedness.” AHA! So it’s actually cool with God to not be one of the cool kids by the world’s standards. There are some things that I just don’t need to know about or be well versed in. God wants me to be innocent as a baby when it comes to the things he considers bad or evil. Thank you, Lord! Speaking of the Lord, he wasn’t part of the “in” crowd. So I’m in good company sticking with Him.

In a society that’s social media driven and reality TV laden, it’s easy to get caught up in the idea that you have to be and stay relevant BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY. There are so many distractions today, things to take your mind off what’s truly important.

God’s word says, ‘Let heaven fill your thoughts; don’t spend your time worrying about things down here.‘ Everything down here is temporary, and what I can see has nothing on what’s going on in the unseen. That’s where the REAL action is taking place. Some things just aren’t important in the broad scheme of things. The sooner we get that, the sooner we can enjoy some real living.

There’s so much that God wants me to know and do. My thoughts and concerns should be on being “up on” how he wants me to look, think, and act more than whichever way the wind is blowing the whims and preferences of society. Who could keep up anyway?

So – so what! I don’t fit in in certain circles, can’t shoot a gun (pretend or real), don’t wear the latest fashion, hottest name brand or have a litany of “cool” experiences, stories of hangovers, blackouts, conquests, etc. Some things it’s just worth being out-of-the-loop on. Enjoy being “green.” Teach those coming up behind you that it’s cool to be “green,” it could save them a lot of heartache, pitfalls and long-term consequences.

courage

Following the crowd could get you in a whole heap of trouble; trouble with who really matters. One bad decision could truly change the course of your life. So don’t give in to peer pressure. Matthew 7:13-14

Dontfollowthecrowd

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Celine Saturdays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Not Easy Being Green

  1. Jocelyn "iNDIGO" Saunders says:

    YAAAAASSSSS sis!!!! There are often times when each of us will feel out of the loop…whatever that loop may be. Sometimes it’s you’re not bad enough to relate…other times/in other circles, it’s… you haven’t been holy enough to relate. At the end of the day, as the scripture you shared…it’s about relating to GOD & His path for our life’s journey. Thank you for this blog.

Leave a Reply

