When’s The Last Time You Did Something for the First Time?

Beautiful street art in New Mexico.

Beautiful street art in New Mexico.

A few weeks ago, I had the opportunity to visit New Mexico. While I’ve been many places, this was actually my first time to that state, so needless to say I was ECSTATIC! New Mexico is known as the “The Land of Enchantment” and I can attest it lives up to its name. Between the beautiful terrain and spirited people, I instantly fell in love and committed to visiting again soon. Before this trip, I must admit I had fallen into a sad, monotonous slump of doing the usual. My trip to New Mexico, albeit a work engagement, gave me some much needed excitement but also left me feeling like I’ve been missing much that this life has to offer. When’s the last time YOU did something for the first time? When’s the last time you discovered God in a new way? I love that God can be all things to all people, which allows us to explore Him in brand new ways, like never before. I know I may sound a tad abstract, but hear me out. When I was in New Mexico, I was able to see God in the incredibly beautiful land He created, and in the testimonies of the Native communities He inhabited. In this experience, I grew to love God even more than before. The bible tells us in Deuteronomy 4:29 that if we seek God, then we will find Him, and I believe this means seeking Him in every facet of this life including in new places, through new friends, and in new cultural experiences. When the bible talks about being born again in the newness of life in Romans 6:4, (when we became Christians), that does not mean we have to limit that to being spiritually born again, but also living in a way that allows us to embrace the newness of THIS PHYSICAL life as well. So I ask you again, when’s the last time you did something for the first time? You never know where you’re gonna meet God, and the last thing you want to do is miss Him or miss learning a piece of Him because you’re too afraid or too boring to try something new! Yall know I like lists, so to get you started here are ten ways to explore the newness of this life…

  1. Try a new food from a different culture. Korean barbeque is DELISH! You could even try a new fruit or vegetable (I’ve never tried rhubarb or jicama myself). God gave us so many yummy choices, why deny ourselves of these luxuries?
  2. Try reading the bible using a different version. NLT gives me a good laugh from time to time but also gives me a better understanding of God and God’s word.
  3. Learn a new language. Master it. Speak it with natives. Pray in it. Reminds me of a song that Donnie McClurkin recorded during one of his live concerts called the Language Medley. I LOVE THIS! Check it out.
  4. Take a train to a new city for a day (or 2 or 3). Save up your coins and travel abroad. God is overseas too.
  5. Visit a worship service different than what you’re used to. Always interesting to see how others worship.
  6. Have you ever actually read the Book of Mormon or the Quran? Try reading excerpts. I guarantee you will appreciate YOUR beliefs as a Christian when you know what others believe as well. No shade to other religions.
  7. Explore nature in a new way. Go bike riding this summer through a park. Go camping. Bird watch (YES I’M SO SERIOUS)! Embrace the beauty of this planet that God created.
  8. Spark up a conversation with someone who is waaayyy different from you. You probably have more in common than you think. If we love God, then we also commit to loving the many different people He created in His image.
  9. Try listening to a new genre of music. Love gospel? Try contemporary Christian. You may learn to really love it as much as I do lol.
  10. And finally, try taking a new class. Whether it be cooking, knitting, or piano lessons, you never know what hidden talents God has placed in you until you TRY!

God wants us to have LIFE and have it more ABUNDANTLY (John 10:10). It’s one thing to have wealth in assets and its totally another to have wealth in experiences and the two are NOT mutually exclusive. So with that said, get to LIVING.

Love yall!

me2

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
Aside | This entry was posted in April Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

