Wanna See a Dead Body?

BoyzNTHood_055Pyxurz“For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it?” Isaiah 43:19

 

One of the many clichés that is often repeated and heard is “prayer changes things.” Today I’d like to put some meaning back into that short phrase with a testimony. My testimony about a place in my life, my spirit that I’d believed was dead, if ever alive – my dreams and my ability to dream.

I can truly say that in the past year my prayer life has been through the roof as my relationship with God has been deepening. I talk to Him every day/all day about everything. One of the areas of my life that I cried out for revival, resurrection and healing was the pain I felt from not being able to articulate what I wanted. The most painful question for me was always, “Celine, what do you want?” I’d not only be at a loss for words, but puzzled at my loss for words.

So I asked God, if He wanted to, to restore my ability to dream, renew in me a passion for purpose and the ability to find it.

This inability to dream bothered me. It was a casualty of being told what to do, what I could do, and never asked what I wanted throughout childhood. This is probably why I strive very hard to guide my daughter rather than dictate her life. My dream-life never developed and I’d been seeking a life ever since. It was my handicap. What could I do about it? So for the most part I accepted it and let go of the desire to have a dream. That’s no way to live.

Fast forward to today. I can’t recall a time in my live when I’ve felt more alive. What has changed? I’ve been writing. I’m passionate about writing, so much so that I write something at least once a day. I sleep with pens, notepads and journals on either side of my bed. I’m so grateful for the platforms I’m able to write from…And then it hit me…

What are the issues that most concern teenagers today? What do you believe the future holds in store for your generation?

Teenagers today are interested in popularity, fast money, expensive clothing and cars. They are usually interested in only the issues that affect them and their happiness. This is a problem, and if there isn’t a change in our priorities as a whole, we won’t have a very bright future as a generation. This leaves much to be desired for the next generation.

Popularity isn’t as great as it seems. Being in with the crowd while in school can bring you down. Most young people don’t realize this until it is too late. Your peers can use you and make you think cutting class, using drugs, having sex and so forth are the greatest things since pizza. But they aren’t. It’s okay to have friends, but don’t let them control your life. A good education, virginity, and a drug-free body are some of the best things in life.

CELINE PARKER

I wrote this brief blurb when I was 15 years old and it was published in the Washington Post in their Students Speak Out column. At the realization of what’s been happening I felt like God tapped me on my shoulder as if to say, ‘see what I did.’ So there it is. My love of writing didn’t just begin in 2014, it’s been a part of me for a very long time; I’d just forgotten. It had been lying dormant and God revived it. Yes, prayer does change things. God listens to us when we talk to Him. I SEE Him and feel and know that he’s been with me all along the way. After all, He knew where the body was buried, dug it up and revived it.

Is there something weighing heavily on your heart? Tell Him about it. There are things we need that only He can help us with. This isn’t about getting whatever you want, but about being God’s friend and telling him what’s on your mind. Like Peter says, “Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.” (1 Peter 5:7)

There’s a visual for relationships going around that speaks of where people are in the audience of your life as it plays out – front row, balcony, etc. That usually refers to our relationship with other people, but what about God? Ever since I’ve given Him priority in my life, front row access, He’s allowing me greater access to Him; allowing me to see some things, those that matter to me and therefore to Him, with brand new eyes.

James-4_8a3

So I encourage you, ask Him – ‘restore the things that I’ve lost, revive the things in my life that could be used for your glory, and give me the things I don’t even know I need, forgive me for the ways I didn’t even know I’ve offended you, and thanks for sticking with me, coming after me when I walked away from you.’

I plan going forward to be more diligent about keeping a prayer journal and checking in just to SEE more of how He’s been working on me, so that I don’t miss a thing.

Meanwhile, there’s no dead body to see here. Move along. My relationship with God gives me life!

 

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Celine Saturdays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wanna See a Dead Body?

  1. Jocelyn "iNDIGO" Saunders says:

    Lord JESUS!!! Girl you betta WRITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I too have hit road blocks in my own purpose-seeking and have felt completely stagnate at times. BUT GOD…he is a restorer …He is alive and makes all things new. Praise God for your piece today sis.

Leave a Reply

