So You Think You Can Dance?

So my week has been MADE lol!!!!

I just saw a commercial for my all time favorite show that will be coming back for its summer season. On Wednesday this week, you can find me curled up on my couch with the volume turned ALL THE WAY UP tuned into Fox’s “So You Think You Can Dance?” I ABSOLUTELY LOOOOVEEE THIS SHOW and have been watching it since it

SYTYCD-7-so-you-think-you-can-dance-14932142-1600-1200first premiered almost ten years ago. I’m not sure if you’ve ever watched a season, but it is probably the best dance competition show on television, YES, better than ABC’s Dancing With the Stars. The reason I love SYTYCD is because of the many different artists and crafts that are featured as apart of the competition. From the waltz to hip hop, anyone who believes in their style and talent can try out, with absolutely no weight on what dance style you perform. In fact, each dance style is valued the same to the judges with no bias shown whatsoever. I also really love that once contestants make it past the initial rounds of auditions, they are then pushed each week to dance in a different style that they are not necessarily fluent in. For example, a traditionally trained ballerina would be pushed to try hip-hop choreography and vice-versa. I think what I love the most and what keeps me coming back is the passion that each dancer brings to their performances every week. I am literally drawn into the art and story of each choreographed routine and leave feeling like I can do that too lol (I CANNOT IN REAL LIFE).

But in this, it makes me think about the ways in which we praise God in our every day lives. I feel like often, church folks are so judgmental in what we consider true or authentic “praise”. I love Psalm 150 verses 1-6 which proclaims, “Praise the Lord! Praise God in his sanctuary; praise him in his mighty heavens! Praise him for his mighty deeds; praise him according to his excellent greatness! Praise him with trumpet sound; praise him with lute and harp! Praise him with tambourine and dance; praise him with strings and pipe! Praise him with sounding cymbals; praise him with loud clashing cymbals! Let everything that has breath praise the Lord.”

We look at those who may jump, shout, and run as the most authentic praisers, when in fact many folks glorify God in more internal and private ways. Much like the judges of the show however, I believe God accepts and acknowledges many different styles of praise and worship, with no bias whatsoever as long as it is pure. I think what’s most important is where our hearts and minds are when we actually enter into praise and worship. Like the dancers, their passion is what shines through the most and in my mind that’s what allows them to press forward and

PWYJudges-SYTYCD-S8-Top20advance in the competition. You ever notice that the people who are REALLY good at something also happen to REALLY love that thing their good at? How could Venus and Serena really hate tennis and still be exceptional at the sport? My point is, the more in love with God you are the more passion and talent you’ll have for the art of praise and worship. The other parallel that I think is SO IMPORTANT to note, is that like the competition where dancers are pushed to try a new style, its important for us as believers to try new ways of praising God in order to keep ourselves growing in our walk with Him. The judges push the dancers to dance at the highest levels possible, all so that they can prove themselves worthy of winning the ultimate prize of the competition: a chance to do it full time!! In the spiritual realm, God expects the same of us. We are to perform for Him (I use the word perform in the most authentic way) in an effort to please Him and prove to Him our ultimate love for the art of Him and hopefully do it for Him full time in the next lifetime.

Finally, our worship should be so beautiful and real that we inspire others to believe that they can do it as well. You should make it look so easy that people feel like they want to take part in the praise and worship of our God. In what ways are you praising and worshipping God? There are so many “styles” of worship, but how have you pushed yourself to try a new style, one that may be uncomfortable for you at first? I tend to be a very private worshipper and rarely “go in” in front of others, but I’m pushing myself to show God more public displays of affection because I understand that someone may need to see me doing it in order for them to wanna try it to.

Never thought you had a great voice? So what, try singing your favorite gospel song to God this week. Never been a dancer? Welp, grab your comfy dancing shoes and put on your best performance for God this week! Have fun exploring and watch God respond.

I would be remiss if I didn’t recognize the men and women who have sacrificed their lives for certain freedoms that I have. On behalf of the B&F women, we say THANK YOU to our service men and women, present and past, and Happy Memorial Day!

Until next week,

ACC

SYTYCD

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
Aside | This entry was posted in April Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

