What’s your sign?

“When I look at the night sky and see the work of your fingers–the moon and the stars you set in place…” Psalm 8:3

I used to faithfully read my horoscope and study the traits of my moon sign and consider that of my love interests to see if we were compatible. When someone would ask my sign, I’d often roll my eyes at the reaction to my reply. Often horoscope listings and sites add a disclaimer – ‘for entertainment purposes only.’ But come on, there are a whole lot of people who take them seriously.

There are times in all of our lives when we want to know what lies ahead and what the future will bring. It’s not uncommon to seek fortune tellers; there’s a palm reading spot or two or three in every neighborhood, psychic hotlines, tarot readers, etc. In my times of frustration, I’ve even gotten my cards read. I’ll admit that I was afraid not just of what I would hear, but what was I opening myself up to. The experience led me to looking at the power of stones and crystals, praying to various angels by name for their powers and I had some pretty scary dreams. I got some answers, but was I satisfied? Were my needs met? Why did I still feel empty?

‘There’s some good in everything.’ I believed in finding the good and seeking the good wherever it could be found. There is freedom of choice in our country and tolerance, but just because I’m free to do whatever I want, doesn’t mean what I want to do is beneficial or what’s best for me. This is one of those things. Oddly enough, the tarot reader suggested that I tap into my creative side to find more joy in life. I enjoy writing, so I began writing more. Writers read a lot. I began to journal about what I read, and then for some reason I was drawn to seeking what God thought about the things I was reading. Long story short, I found what God was telling me not only answered my questions, but I no longer felt like something was missing. The emptiness in my life was being filled, and I began to trust Him for the things I didn’t quite understand yet.

Throughout biblical history, astrologers and magicians under the employ of some of the world’s greatest leaders were able to duplicate some of the miracles of God’s servants, but the wondrous difference was that they could not CONTROL God’s creations. That’s the kind of power I want behind me, power that not only knows the future, but can control it.

So I could seek advice from self-help books, go get my fortune read, and read horoscopes. A lot of these things are cheap imitations of the true source. Why look to the stars, sun and moon for direction and the course of my life, when I could ask the source? God says trust and put your faith in me REPEATEDLY in His Word.

In my line of work, we try to avoid allowing people to ‘forum shop.’ That’s asking several different people the same thing until we get an answer we like. We try to have a united front and keep from giving opposing advice by steering questions to one source. Even in our personal lives we find it rather annoying when a person asks for our advice and then moves on to seek that of someone else. I know God doesn’t want me looking to anyone other than Him for the answers to my questions about life. So I don’t so much as glance at a horoscope anymore. I only want to hear His voice loud and clear and not have my mind cluttered with noise that might have a ring of truth to it. I want the unadulterated truth.

HopeandFuture

Looking to God’s creation for advice when I have access to Him seems silly now. And with Him, I don’t need a second opinion; I wouldn’t want to insult Him like that.

3-9-2014-Celine

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Celine Saturdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s your sign?

  1. Abby says:

    Very inspirational. We were taught at a young age from our dad that these type of entertainments were witchcraft. I used to wonder as a child how magicians did what they could do or how horoscopes could sometimes just be right on the money. But you are right, these are just cheap imitations of the real deal. God gives us free will and even in the Bible the magicians could do some of the same as God’s miracles but they were limited and He always came out on top. Plus, as you stated, it’s never satisfying but pleasurable for a moment and you are left with unanswered questions and/or even more questions than before. Great blog Sis!

    • boldandfab says:

      Yes, Sis! Trading temporary pleasure in for permanent and satisfying blessing of the living God is truly amazing. Praise God! Thanks for reading and commenting. Love you! C ❤

  2. boldandfab says:

    Reblogged this on The BOLD & The FABULOUS and commented:

    Do you look to the stars, sun and moon to guide you? Happy Saturday Folks! Writing a paper today so reblogging and oldie. Enjoy! And have a safe weekend. ❤

Leave a Reply

