7 Randomly Awesome Things You May or May Not Have Known About April

Hey yall! So the ladies of B&F have decided to dedicate one post in June to sharing more about ourselves with our readers. Celine did an INCREDIBLE job kicking us off (if you haven’t read her post GO NOW lol), so I’m gonna do my best to keep the week strong with some fun facts about lil’ ole me. As I reflected on what I wanted to share, I began to think about the ways in which my life experiences have shaped and defined my relationship with God. I believe that every single idiosyncrasy, fun fact, and random quality that we have serves a purpose in this lifetime. Walk with me as we explore some of my weird quips and how they’ve played a role in my spiritual life and then make a list of your own! So here you have it,

7 Randomly Awesome Things You May or May Not Have Known About April:

  1. famI’m 1 of 6 kids (with a 7th brother from another mother, shout out to Darryl who just got married): In other words, I know how to share REALLY WELL. Growing up in a BIG family with very humble beginnings taught me very early on how to be selfless. Everything from food to clothes was shared in my home and it made me a more giving person as an adult. In my spiritual life, I’ve been able to really live out the principal of giving whether through tithes, time, or talent. Are you from a big family? What characteristics have you picked up from your humble beginnings? I love Deuteronomy 16:17  which says “Every man shall give as he is able, according to the blessing of the LORD your God which he has given you.”
  2. I’m the MIDDLE of 5 girls: I’ve gotten use to not having lots of attention lol; in short, it’s never been about me. In most families, the oldest and youngest have their share of spotlight, often times “just because”. For those of us in the middle, we sort of just fall into place and play our position getting by on the attention we give ourselves. Because of this fact, externally, I actually shy away from unnecessary attention. I much prefer to be in the background and in extreme cases, go unnoticed. In my walk with God, I’ve understood that my call in this lifetime is essentially not about me and ALL ABOUT GOD. He deserves glory in all that I do, which is a very easy concept to understand as a middle child lol. 1 Corinthians 10:31 supports, “So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.”
  3. I’m an ISFJ; also known a nurturer (my sisters often call me mother hen lol). ISFJ is my Meyers Briggs personality type and is literally me to a T. Introverted, Sensing, Feeling, and Judging, I am altruistic to the depths of the definition. I wear my heart on my sleeve, I love hard, and I will literally do anything for anybody if I have the power to do so. With God, I know that the work I do here is ultimately for Him which keeps me going. Colossians 3:23 offers,”Whatever you do, work at it wholeheartedly as though you were doing it for the Lord and not merely for people.” What are your personality traits? Why did God give you those traits and not others? How have you used those traits to build His kingdom? To take the Meyers Briggs test checkout this site and lemme know what you get!!
  4. photo 2

    My loves!!

    I’m an Aunty! If you follow me on social media then you are privy to my obsession with my 5 year old and soon to be 2 year old nephews. I’ve said it before, but it wasn’t until they were born that I really understood what it means to love. It was through them that I learned how big my heart really is and how great love can feel. They gave me a small glimpse into how I imagine God must feel about us when He says He loves us. We all know John 3:16 that says, “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” but have we really taken the time to consider the depths at which God’s love exists? Man, are we LUCKY.

  5. I’m an old soul: I really appreciate the value of history. Side note, I swear I should have been born in the late 70’s because my obsession with old school jams is really quite odd. I was a history major in college because I’ve always really loved knowing the path paved before us. For this reason, believing in God’s word has never been an issue for me. Whether read as a historical text or my guide to life, I absolutely love digging into the stories of the Bible. One of my favorite verses, Timothy 3:16-17 instructs,  “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness,  so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”
  6. I’m a dreamer: I know how to be excited for those things that are intangible. I spend lots of time daydreaming and imagining what the future may hold according to what I believe God has promised. I sometimes live in my dreams so much that I forgeim-a-dreamert about relishing in the present. I need to remind myself that each day I get to live should be treasured and treated as a birthday, because after all, James 4:14 warns us, “…What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.”
  7. I’m unconventional: I know what I believe and believe what I know. I recognize that I tend to have very radical beliefs and opinions that are hard to sway. In some ways this conviction is a GREAT thing because it stands to be the very essence of who I am. However, in some instances I know that I can be a bit of a hard nut to crack which limits my overall growth. I’d definitely like to be pushed more in this regard as we enter into the last 6 months of 2014. I wholeheartedly believe that we as humans reserve the right to change our mind, otherwise there would be no such thing as growing pains. So if you know me, be sure to hold me accountable in this effort. 2 Peter 3:18 encourages us to continue to “…grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and forever! Amen.”

So now that I’ve shared LOTS about me, it’s your turn. Write a list of your quirky ways and reflect on why those things exist and how they’ve shaped who YOU are! Share them with us, your friends and family, and even via social media. We can’t wait to read!

Until next week,

ACC

photo 3

 

 

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in April Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7 Randomly Awesome Things You May or May Not Have Known About April

  1. boldandfab says:

    Hi April! I got ESTJ this time…I’m usually an introvert when I take it. Anyway, thanks for sharing these random facts. I found it interesting that the way you feel as a middle child, has also been my theme as an oldest child – “It’s not about you.” Can’t count how many times my mother said that. Left me wondering if it ever is about me. 🙂 And you should’ve been born late 70’s hunh…This early 70’s baby feels dated. Hahaha! See you next week! ❤ Celine

Leave a Reply

