Consistency Is Key

Today I had the distinct pleasure of meeting one of my former students for dinner downtown and it literally made my day! While she is definitely all grown up, she is still the same ol silly, sweet girl that I remember teaching more than 3 years ago. We spent a good 3 hours reminiscing about how things were a few years ago and spent even more time talking through future endeavors. Our dinner-date literally felt like we hadn’t skipped a beat in three years. I left dinner smiling from ear to ear, so proud of her accomplishments and the good decisions she’s made thus far. I was especially impressed with her resilience despite going through a tough school in Baltimore City and experiencing things no student should ever endure.

On my way home I started thinking about how much I appreciated her consistency in who she is as a sweet, loving, persevering person, one who I can trust to be the same person today as she was yesterday. You ever have a friend who you haven’t seen in forever but as soon as you see them it’s as if you two never missed any time together? This month I’ve really been able to appreciate how God has been so consistent over my lifetime, which is something I’ve never really taken time to thank him for. One of the most beautiful aspects of knowing God is knowing that no matter what’s happening in my life at the moment, God is and will forever be the same God who created me in my mother’s womb. When I travel out of state and I need a place to work, I often choose Starbucks which feels like my home away from home. I go to Starbucks expecting the atmosphere and coffee to be the same in the city I’m visiting just as it is at home- and guess what? It’s ALWAYS is! The same is so true with our savior Jesus Christ where Hebrews 13:8 says, “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.” I don’t know about you, but I so desperately need consistency from Jesus when everything else in my life is so complicated and worrisome. When all else fails, I know I can rely on God to be the same today as He was yesterday.

Can you think of those people who are most consistent in your life? The ones who are true to themselves and whom you can trust will be what you need for them to be at any given time? When’s the last time you thanked this person for their consistency? When’s the last time you thanked God for HIS consistency? Perhaps consider including that in your daily prayer. Can you imagine a life where God was a different God every day or at every prayer; one day He might be present and the next He’s nowhere to be found? Aren’t you so glad that the God we serve loves us enough to be a consistent presence and force in our lives? I mean really, who am I that He calls ME friend?

Short and sweet, but I’ve literally just been in awe of how steady God has remained for me in my super hectic season of transition. I simply wanted to publicly thank Him for being my rock while the world around me seems so crazy. Psalm 18:2 exclaims, “The LORD is my rock, my fortress, and my savior; my God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the power that saves me, and my place of safety.”

Maybe you can thank Him too.

Later,

ACC

photo 2

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
Aside | This entry was posted in April Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Consistency Is Key

  1. destiny says:

    Thank you God for allowing ms.curely into my life and still allow her to love and appreciate me as if I was her very own …..I love you ms.curley you might not fully understand the impact and infleucnce that you have had and made in my life but I’m defitently love and appreiciate you for it … Looking for to OUR DESTINY IN THE FUTRUE ..
    LOVE U ALWAYS – DLH

Leave a Reply

