Decisions, decisions Pt. 2

So today I had to make a REALLY HARD DECISION in my job hunt, where essentially I was choosing between accepting a job offer with an organization that I really love or decline the offer and accept a final interview with the most competitive tech company in the world. I think what made this decision especially hard is the fact that I really love both opportunities, but one is a guaranteed offer and the other is simply a possibility. In my endeavor to make the most sound decision, I literally consulted every person I know on what they believed I should do. The advice I received (all very thoughtful I must say) ranged from asking for an extension on making my decision to chasing the one that I felt truly aligned with my long-term career goals.  I literally spent the entire weekend tossing and turning in my bed and feeling really sick in having to make such a life-changing decision so quickly. I also spent lots of time this weekend in prayer, talking to God one-on-one but to no avail in receiving any clarity. I even cried this morning under the pressure of trying to solicit God’s voice in making the right decision but eventually had to get myself up and start my day.

So before I tell yall what I decided, I wanna pause right here and say that sometimes when we come to a crossroads in life and find ourselves having to make really tough decisions, God will sit back and watch us as we think through this decision because THE PROCESS is more important than the actual outcome.

Did I really exhaust all opportunities to gather opinions of the folks God has placed around me? I love Ecclesiastes 4:9, which says “Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil. For if they fall, one will lift up his fellow. But woe to him who is alone when he falls and has not another to lift him up!” New living translation says, “Two people are better off than one, for they can help each other succeed.” Did I spend time in prayer and fasting over this decision? Did I operate in humility and integrity in trying to come to the right outcome? 1 Peter 5:6-7 encourages us to “Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” Assessing our critical thinking is NOT just for interviewers but for God to use as a way to see if we are truly ready for the next, more complex season of our lives. Even if the steps I took yielded no immediate results, I feel like the mere fact that I took those steps speaks for itself. While God has every tiny detail planned of our lives, I do absolutely believe that we play a huge role in making that plan come to fruition.

By the late afternoon I forced myself to just make a decision and act on it, because at the end of the day I trusted God to hold me down. I crafted my decline email and after several hours of sitting on it, closed my eyes and pressed send. In my email I was very transparent and tried my best to operate with respect and humility in a way that truly expressed my thanks and sadness in having to decline their thoughtful offer. I legit wrote a good 5 paragraphs as to be sure to really show my gratitude for the opportunity and willingness to support their efforts moving forward. In my sincerity, I also wanted to be upfront about why I could not accept their offer in hopes that they would understand that it was literally not them, but just me wanting to further explore a really big opportunity. Welp, brace yourself for my praise report:

Do yall know not even an hour after sending that email, I received a call from the Executive Director who said in a nutshell, if my final interview with this big company doesn’t work out, the offer still stands? LAWDDDDD!!!!!!! I almost cried on the phone yall!! After a good hour of being in shock, I spent this evening just thinking through the lessons learned from this experience. I think the MOST IMPORTANT LESSON I learned from today was that I need to take the limits off of what God can do. In no way did I ever consider the power God had to make a way where I was given a win-win recipe. In my very small and limited mind, it was literally an either/or situation. I mean WOW, God NEVER ceases to amaze me. When have you limited the outcomes of what God can do based on YOUR small-minded thinking? Do you believe God can give you all the desires of your heart? How can you expand your faith and truly take the limits off of what God can do? Isaiah 55:8 exclaims, “My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the LORD. “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.” The other important lesson I’ve learned is when you operate in the spirit of honesty, integrity, kindness, and love, even in the job hunt, those things eventually pay off. I say that because I feel like in corporate America we are taught to “play the game”, whereas I could have easily accepted the offer and then still interviewed with the other company on the low, but being dishonest never feels right. The bible GOES IN about our walk in integrity, but my favorite verse says in Proverbs 28:6, “Better is a poor man who walks in his integrity than a rich man who is crooked in his ways.”

While I have no clue how this will pan out and where I will start my next season, I DO KNOW that God is in control and His plans are WAYYYY bigger than what I could ever imagine. I think once we understand that concept and literally step out on faith God responds in such a major way. I’ll keep yall posted.

Until next week,

ACC
AC

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in April Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

