Choking

Stuck-Career-Featured

So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today. – Matthew 6:34

This week was my first stint teaching at Vacation Bible School. I was both excited and nervous at the same time. I’d received the lesson book for my assigned section a couple weeks ago. The plan was to read through it to get a feel for what I was going to do. After all I knock books out in a week or so all the time. Fast forward to me trudging through the information for Day 1, I got so overwhelmed that I closed the book and didn’t open it again until it was absolutely necessary. I needed to move forward with a new plan, a different approach if I was going to make it…If I didn’t want to panic or CHOKE.

So with a few days to spare, I decided to only look at the supply lists. While Day one’s supply list was lengthy, several items were duplicated throughout the week. *huge sigh of relief* Once I made that realization, making and fulfilling the supply needs was pretty painless.

Next, instead of sitting down and trying to read through an entire week’s worth of lesson plans, I decided to just read one day per day. Taking one small bite at a time.

Reading one day at a time allowed me to chew, swallow and digest the information much better. I was able to relax, renew my excitement and feel more confident in fulfilling the task I’d been entrusted with. I even noticed little details that I hadn’t noticed before. I probably couldn’t notice them because my focus was too broad.

Do you have a task ahead of you that you’ve been avoiding because it’s too much to think about all at once? Let me encourage you to start small. Break the task into small bite-sized pieces, if possible, so that they’re easier to chew, swallow and digest.

Worrying-does-not-empty-tomorrow-of-its-troubles.Corrie-Ten-Moom-quote

Our savior said, “each day will have its own trouble, so worry about today. Don’t fret about tomorrow.’ Great advice. I’m learning in all things to do this. There are things that I’ll have to take on in life WHEN I GET TO THEM. Those things probably will not look the way I’d imagined anyway. So any worry, preparation or planning that I’m doing for a future I’m not certain of at this time is useless. Looking and rushing ahead in my mind to try and figure out days, months, even years in advance could cause me to choke, but taking things one day at a time and leaving the rest to God keeps me from having indigestion, even from CHOKING. ❤

meVBS

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Celine Saturdays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

