This ain’t living?

breathingaliveRecently I was speaking with a friend about what I’ve been up to over the past year. Well when the subject of one particular activity arose, he remarked that because I hadn’t been participating in it I haven’t been living. *face scrunched up* Checking my pulse…Heart still beating. Dude, what are you talking about? Got me to thinking about, just what living is supposed to look like. I’m sure I’d get very different answers if I took a poll, so I decided to ask God.

When I was a kid, at times when a subject grabbed my attention and held on for dear life, I’d grab the encyclopedia and read and read and read. Research is a passion of mine. A while back I shared a habit I’ve developed over the past year. In addition to praying – talking to God about what’s on my heart, I use one of my favorite research tools – Google – to ask what God says about any subject that weighs upon my heart…especially when a concern has my mind racing late at night.

This is what I found when I googled “What does the Bible say about living life?” Well several scriptures came up but the ones that spoke to my heart were –

Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you your heart’s desires. – Psalm 37:4

The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life. – John 10:10

You will show me the way of life, granting me the joy of your presence and the pleasures of living with you forever. – Psalm 16:11

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline. – 2 Timothy 1:7

Good stuff! Thanks Dad.

thrive-300x284

Over the past year I’ve been having the time of my life. It’s been a rollercoaster with some major tests. I’ve been getting to know me, and getting to know God. I’ve found out that I’m not who I thought I was. He’s not who I thought He was either (in such a good, refreshing way). As I’ve surrendered my life (I’m still learning there are things I need to let go of.) it’s being made over. It’s a bumpy ride, but one I willingly take because of who He is, what lies ahead…Still seeking, still learning…laughing, crying, winning, failing…All that’s a part of living. The best thing that He showed me this week was that being spiritual won’t be understood by those who value and choose to live by what’s natural. It’s nothing I need to apologize for, feel weird about…because it’s a CHOICE. We all get to choose how we live and that’s so beautiful.

 People who do not have God’s Spirit do not accept the things that come from his Spirit. They think these things are foolish. They cannot understand them, because they can only be understood with the Spirit’s help. We who have the Spirit are able to make judgments about all these things. But anyone without the Spirit is not able to make proper judgments about us.  As the Scriptures say,

“Who can know what is on the Lord’s mind?
Who is able to give him advice?”

But we have been given Christ’s way of thinking. – 1 Corinthians 2:14-16

Living is a choice all the way down to how you decide to do it. So yes! I’m living. ❤

3-9-2014-Celine

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This ain’t living?

  1. Jeannette Brantley says:

    Greetings my dear April! What a blessing the internet is, Praise God!I have been thinking of you so often and this morning I decided to take to the web and try and find you. the blessing has indeed been mine. I am not typically a blog follower but yours has so inspired me and encouraged my heart. I always knew you were destined to do amazing things April. It so warms my heart that you are on a journey towards God and becoming all that he desires you to be. At some point I must connect with you and catch up. When I think of students who impacted my life the most… you are remain the standout for me. In addition, you have always been “the baby girl I never had” Lol. I know you are super busy my dear but when time allows, shoot me an email so we can talk about a visit here in Cali, or me to you in New York. God bless and keep you sweetie and heaven continue to smile upon you in the brightest way.
    Love and miss you,
    Jeannette Brantley aka, ( Ms. Brantley from WLHS)
    P.S, I still have the beautiful letter you wrote and gave me on graduation day)

Leave a Reply

