Be About It…

At approximately 1:45am on Friday August 8th, my In-Laws house caught fire. There was substantial damage to their home of 40+ years. Many of their most cherished items and keepsakes were lost to the flames forever.

IMG_5182

BUT, thanks be to God, the smoke detector alerted them and they got out without injury.

     Today, I just want to touch on the topic of showing compassion for those who have gone through something. Compassion should ALWAYS lead us to action of some kind. While we ask God for the guidance to be of service to people in times of need, we must remind ourselves to not only sympathize, but also empathize. Sympathy is a feeling of pity and sorrow for another person’s misfortune. Empathy is the ability to understand and share the feelings of another’s misfortune.

     If someone tells you their house caught fire and your immediate response is, “Well, at least you’re alive and okay”, you may be missing an opportunity to be compassionate towards them. Granted, it is very true that anyone who makes it out of a house fire alive, is truly blessed. It is also true that destroyed items are just ‘things’…a lot of which can be replaced. But keep in mind that people are human with emotions. Often times, people may not need the spiritualized, logical pep talk. Instead, people just need to know that you care.

     My in-laws home insurance company has put them up in a hotel while repairs and renovations are done on their home. The work on their home is scheduled to take between four and eight months. So my husband and I made a decision that we want them to stay in our home instead…a place where they can feel at home during this unsettling time. So this week, I am in the process of transforming one of our bedrooms (which has inadvertently become my shoe closet) into a home-away-from-home oasis for them.IMG_5185 They move in on this Saturday! This was our way of showing compassion for all they have gone through. As we pray, we are also acting to be a blessing as much as in our capacity to do so. Deuteronomy 16:17 — Every man shall give as he is able, according to the blessing of the LORD your God that he has given you.

     It could be a house fire, a job loss, a health crisis, or any number of things you may hear about that effect someone from day to day. Simply ask yourself, how you would like to be treated in the event an unexpected hardship falls upon you? Ask someone how you can help them through their rough patch. Volunteer to pray with them. Offer assistance. Show with your words and actions that you have a heart that feels for them. I promise you, that compassion will go a very long way. No one wants to feel alone.

1 Peter 3:8 — Finally, all of you, have unity of mind, sympathy,  brotherly love,  a tender heart, and  a humble mind.

*Wednesdays With INDIGO*

js4

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Wednesdays with iNDIGO and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Be About It…

  1. Bobbie Patterson says:

    This was a beautiful message that needs to be shared & heard. God bless you & your husband for making yall home a home away for home for your in-laws to be comfortable in during their transition. Sometime believers & nonbelievers can be harsh, rule & unsympathic to other feeling when they are hurting & going thru. Sometime someone just want you to listen & be there for them and have a regular conversation without you beating them over the head with the Word of God everytime you talk. Not knowing that you can do more damage then good. I had a personal experience similar to this message. Last year May 2013 my mom passed away after being diagnosed with cancer in Jan 2012. I was talking with a sister in Christ the day after my mom homegoing celebration and during the conversation she stated that maybe God took my mom because I loved her to much. Now I was in shock because I did love the Lord but I also thought I was honoring God command to honor my mother/father & to LOVE her which is the greatest thing I could have did to help her especially during her illness. So I was thinking maybe since I wasn’t attending my home church but I was still attending church elsewhere receiving God word because it was convenient for my mom & myself that she must had assumed that I stop loving the Lord, praying & stop attending church. So she made me feel guilty for loving my mom for months tearing my heart up with guilt. Speaking with other believers, crying countless days & nights more for the lost of my mom/bestfriend. I had to realize the Lord was ready for his child & my mom death didn’t have anything to do with me loving her. I was in so much disbelief of hearing that from a child of God/sister in christ that it depressed me for months trying to figure out why would someone think that to say to someone because more damage was done than good.

    • J. Indigo Saunders says:

      WOW Sis Bobbie. THANK YOU for taking the time to read and comment on my blog. I’m so glad it blessed you and you were able to see a common thread. THANK YOU for your transparency. When I tell you that Christians (or “so-called” Christians) can be the most insensitive of all sometimes, I ain’t NEVER lied!!!!! Everything isn’t super spiritual. You’re not less of a Christian if you have a “in the natural” moment. God knows we ain’t JESUS…the church needs to get the memo. Compassion…that changes things & softens the heart. Too many hard-heart believers out here. God bless you. Come back each & every Wednesday to read what God places on my heart each week. Thanx again.

  2. vivianfeggans1 says:

    Compassion is so underestimated. It was such a huge part of Jesus’ life, and made unimaginable impact on the lives of believers and many who didn’t believe at first. We should all be eager for opportunities to demonstrate this virtue of compassion. So beautiful!

    • J. Indigo Saunders says:

      Amen Ma. Becoming more like Christ, we’ve GOT TO embrace this more and more. I am growing in this area…a lot by watching you. You’ve ALWAYS had a heart larger than life…it often baffled my mind when I was younger…like WHY the heck does she care so much about that person she doesn’t even know? It’s a beautiful thing. I’m getting there.

  3. Bobbie Patterson says:

    Thanks & I will. Yall beautiful ladies continue to be Bold & Fab for the Lord.

  4. Kim Prophet says:

    Wow!! First, prayers go out to your in-laws in this testing time. I went thru a similar experience except I had not moved in yet. Fire claimed our condo 2 weeks after settlement. It was on the 4th floor and claimed the life of my elderly neighbor.

    You and Husband guy did a noble thing by creating a home within your home for them. Very inspiring!!

    • J. Indigo Saunders says:

      THANK YOU SOOOOOOOOOO MUCH KIM for reading & commenting. I appreciate you & your kind words. I had no clue that happened to you. That’s crazy!!!!

Leave a Reply

