Call Him What You Need Him To Be

I was listening to Fred Hammond’s “You Are the Living Word”- One of my all time FAVORITEEEEE songs- and it got me thinking about the many hats that God wears in my life and how much I appreciate Him for that.

My favorite verses say,

“Awesome ruler, gentle Redeemer,
God with us, the Living Truth
And what a friend we have in you,
You are the Living Word”

How amazing is it to know God as a RULER, particularly in the crazy, scary world we live in today? To know that He is still in control and rules over all is super comforting when my heart is heavy from the injustices happening daily. Deuteronomy 10:14 reminds us, “To the LORD your God belong the heavens, even the highest heavens, the earth and everything in it.”

“Gentle redeemer”, the hat He wears when we constantly beg forgiveness for the sins we’ve committed by thought, word, and deed.

El-Shaddai, Almighty God, the hat He wears when He’s handling our toughest battles for us.

Fred Hammond’s song compelled me to appreciate the multi-faceted God that we serve and begin leveraging this incredible power to meet my need in prayer. I’m challenging myself to pray to God this week calling Him the name that I need Him to operate in, to meet my specific needs, starting with Jehovah Jireh, God our provider. Many of you know that I’m still looking for a place to live in NY and so my focus in prayer is in believing that God will provide.

What is it that you need God to do for you or others around you? Call on Him in that name, and watch Him work. The wonderful thing about being a Christian is that we dont need a million gods to meet our million needs, but rather, we trust the one, true living God to take care of us in every way. I think we sometimes forget the power that God has to literally impact every single care that we carry and therefore we tend to only come to Him with basic-level prayer, but the bible reminds us in Philippians 4:6 to “not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”

I also really love the verse in Matthew 6:7 that says when we pray we should be careful not to “babble on and on as people of other religions do. They think their prayers are answered merely by repeating their words again and again.” I love this because it implies in many ways that we should not be vague and surface in our prayer life, but instead come to God with specific and meaningful words that capture exactly what it is we need. 

So join me this week, in prayer, and Call God what you need Him to be.

-ACC

image1

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in April Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

