Reaping What I’ve Sown

As I refIMG_2749lect back on 2014, I can’t help but to share how awesome God was to me. The biggest career move of my life, got a great guy, and a brand new niece; I have absolutely no complaints whatsoever. I give God all of the glory because I know that He is totally and utterly responsible for the blessings that came my way. I think I have to admit, however, that while I wont dare say I deserved these great things per se, I WILL SAY that I believe God was faithful to me because of how faithful I’ve tried to be to Him.

One of my favorite songs of 2014 (kudos to my BFF for putting me on) was William Murphy’s “It’s Working”. In the chorus he belts, “This is my season for grace, for favor, this is my season to reap what I have sown.” His first verse confirms, “See….I haven’t been perfect, downloadbut I sure been faithful; see….God’s got a purpose yes and I know He’s able…” I love these words because it totally goes against the grain of what we’re used to hearing in the church- that of us only being blessed out of near-perfect living, when in fact its quite the opposite. I believe God meets us exactly where we are and recognizes the efforts we make to be obedient to His word. While I’ve been FAR from perfect, I think God has simply been proud of the faith that I’ve kept in Him, despite less-than-ideal circumstances. Beyond being faithful however, I think what I want to share most with you tonight is how important it is for us to remember that faith without works is DEAD. William Murphy’s chorus reminds me that its not enough to plant seeds of good deeds and faith, but to also harvest the crop when its ripe, and then REAP what I’ve sown, or in other words enjoy the rewards of my efforts.

Imagine: When a crop is ready, do you think a farmer sits at his table, prepared to feast, waiting for the wind to blow carrots or corn husks into his lap? No way! A farmer knows that when the time is right, it is HIS responsibility to go (and in some cases get down in the dirt), and pull up the crops that he’s worked so hard to grow, and then he enjoys the rewards of his efforts. Doncarrot20farmer20ny‘t think for one second that God is just going to blow blessings your way, when in fact some things we actually have to get down in the dirt and pull up ourselves. The word harvest itself is more often used as a verb, meaning to gather, and I think the BIGGEST mistake we sometimes make as Christians is sowing good seed and then expecting for God to also do the harvesting. Sometimes God is waiting for us to simply GO GET OUR BLESSING, i.e.: submitting that application for your dream job, putting in that contract on that awesome house, going to talk to that dean of the school you’re hoping to enroll in.

I think we’ve attached such a negative connotation to the words “reap what you sow” when in all actuality if you are sowing good seed, the Bible says that you shall harvest a GOOD CROP. I love Galatians 6:9, which says “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” I also really love Proverbs 11:18 which affirms “…the one who sows righteousness reaps a sure reward.”

What’s my point? Well as we open a new year I want to encourage you to plant good seed (doing good deeds), maintain your crop (keeping faith in God), harvest your crop (grab those blessings), and reap what you have sown (enjoy those blessings).

Probably a lesson you’ve heard a million times before, I know, but reinforcement never hurt nobody lol.

Love yall and happy New Year!

-ACC

IMG_3344

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in April Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

