My Empty Place

So some of you know about my move to the big apple, and others of you know that I’ve been sort of a nomad for the last 5 months as I’ve tried to secure an apartment (which is a full time job in and of itself in NY apparently). Well, I’m happy to share that as of yesterday I am now considered a real New Yawka (as if the outrageous taxes coming out of my check aren’t proof enough). Yep-you heard right, I FINALLY got a place in cute little Harlem, close to my job and still close to my sister and niece. izzy-ny-pizza

As you can imagine I literally have nothing in my place except for an air mattress and a couple suitcases until I can get my things up from Baltimore in a few weeks (anyone wanna help me move?). Needless to say, its gonna be tough as I thug it out with no dishes, no tv, and no comfy bed for the next 2 weeks. Nonetheless the one thing that I LOVE about this period of time in “emptiness” is how I’m able to envision the look I want for my new place. I mean I literally stayed up last night searching for ideas of what I want to do with this tiny, but cozy, little apartment. While there’s absolutely nothing in this space I can imagine all of the different possibilities and ways to decorate and then fill it in accordingly.

5132oPbmuYLMuch like our lives, sometimes we need to be in a place of emptiness, a place that allows us to re-envision the look we want for ourselves. Like a home, we can so often be hoarders of our mind, body, and especially soul, holding onto things that we no longer need for the season we’re in. Oh, but the joy of starting anew! I think sometimes all we need to do is ask God for a fresh start and clean slate so that we can then search for ideas of how to “re-decorate” our lives or in other words- dream again. Jeremy Camp sings one of my favorite songs that simply says, “empty me and fill me with You”. I love this song so much because it reminds me that our prayer can be that simple, “Lord, empty me.” I’m convinced that its when we’re in a place of total emptiness and surrender, that God will fill us up accordingly. John makes it plain and clear for us in John 3:30 when he says, “He must become greater; I must become less.” And one of my all-time favorite verses, 2 Corinthians 5:17 says, “This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!”

Are you ready to move into a new place, spiritually? Are you excited to be filled with some newness? Perhaps make that simple request to God for Him to simply empty you, and see what happens!

Later gators,

ACC

IMG_4040

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in April Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Empty Place

  1. boldandfab says:

    LOVE this!!! Oh what a joy to start anew, indeed! Congrats on the new place and fresh start, sis! ❤ C

Leave a Reply

